Hi, Steemers! I'm thhiggi from Brazil.

in #investments8 years ago (edited)

First, I'm going to prove that I'm really me, so here am I.

My real name is Thiago Silva, I'm a quasi-lawyer and I work as a attendant for a public bank. I live in Rio de Janeiro, The Wonderful City of Brazil.

Everyone knows us for our hot climate and joyful spirit, how good we are at playing soccer games and shaking hips in a rhythmic way in samba and the most famous festival, carnival. However, few people know the problems we face such as our extreme social inequality, where rich people live side by side with what we call "favelas", which can be viewed as a suburban slum. By the way, this is the main reason why we have so much violence being done here. But, we are also known for our beautiful landscape with green hills all over the place and our long coast with all kinds of beaches.

Here I am standing for a photo in Grumari beach.

As you may know, Rio de Janeiro will host the 2016 Olympic Games and I'm excited to see how much people from around the world will flood this place with all their languages and culture. Despite our state governor declaring a state of financial emergency and requesting funds from federal government to help fulfill obligations for public services during this event that start on August 5, I hope you have a great time if you come here to visit us, as it was during 2014 World Cup.

Now, I must tell you how did I end up being on Steemit.

In October 2014, as a bank employee , I was trying to find a way to have a supplementary income and that's when I found about Bitcoin, a cryptocurrency which was still little known by our people back then. So, as a technology enthusiast and with some libertarian views, I was amazed at how cheap, secure and easy it was to transfer value through the blockchain network to anywhere in the world.

A logo made by me during this time.

In this path of knowing the crypto world I went through several highs and lows, like earning a lot on dice gambling sites and lose it all after that. I also tried some HYIP websites that paid for a short amount of time, then vanished with all my money deposited there. Nevertheless, I didn't give up from investing in this thing because, after reading some posts, I decided I would to learn how to trade properly by reading some books online. It was then that I got to know Ethereum, a chain of complicated smart contracts that was rising at the time and got my attention.

After having some issues with a particular exchange, I transferred my whole balance to Poloniex, a US based crypto exchange that have a lot of cons to invest. Since then, I trade regularly some good looking altcoins and live this tense life of trending lines, channels, support, resistance, top, bottom, etc.

Finally, as I was meeting people on forums, slacks and chat boxes, I was sent a few posts from Steemit. As I read it, I became more interested at how a social media works through a blockchain and how it differs from sites like Facebook and twitter. It was a moment like:

This is really a big idea. I have to participate in this community. So, here I am posting my introduction.

I'm willing to learn more about Steemit and post how to use it in portuguese because I can find anything about it in my own language.

Let's make this place awesome and grow together Steemers!

#introduceyourself #introduction #steemit #community #portuguese #riodejaneiro #brazil #crypto #bitcoin

Sort:  

Welcome Silva, nice to havr you here.

Tks!!! Your comment was much appreciated.

greeting from me indonesian... welcome to steemit community (^_^)

You're welcome

You should then use the tag to introduceyourself so that you get an award Better..

Tks for the reply.
When I type this in tag field, it changes back to investments lol

Anyone knows how can i change this investments tag? I'd like to put it as introduceyourself.

You can not change the tag but may be added by using a space

System automatically chose this as main tag for me. :(

IF you edit the post and include introduceyourself as one of the tags (put spaces between tags) then it will show up in introduceyourself feed but you won't be able to change the main tag shown on the post.

Yeah, rahmat toldme above.
Theres a lot of changes that need to be made on Steemit in order to people get in this project.
We cant change much here.

"My real name is Thiago Silva".. like the footballer? lol.

Río is amazing man, went there on november, love the place!

Exactly! People keep making this association.
I'm happy you enjoyed being here ;D.

Falâe thhiggi! Welcome aboard!!!!

É o primeiro de muitos posts rs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70