You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Steemit?

in #investments8 years ago

I am new to Steemit, and this was the most comprehensive and clearly written elaboration of the platform. After reading this, I believe I understand how the system works a lot better. Thank you.

Sort:  

Agree . Very very well writen . I'm new to Steemit as well and it hard to find any source about steemit on youtube or other website beside in Steemit. I think most of the source are lay out here because mass majority of people are writing about steem at Steemit.

Thank you for your feedback! You are probably right - people are choosing to put their time and effort into Steeming rather than other social media platforms because they can get paid. Probably a trend here...

Great to hear this helped you along, thank you for your comments! It took me a while get my head wrapped around the basics and I'm still not sure I've really got it yet.

Thanks for the quick response.

I have one question I have been pondering. In the first post that I made I received about 20 votes and the post says I have earned about 90 cents on it. However, another guy has a post in the same category, and he has about the same amount of upvotes, yet he has a potential payout of 20 dollars on it so far.

I have a sneaking suspicion this has to do with voter influence and STEEM power, but I am not quite sure the specifics and dynamics. Mind clarifying this for me?

SP is dynamic throughout the day. The more SP a person, the more value they bring. But the more they vote that day, the less each of their vites is worth. Also the timing of their vote relative to others who vote on a post affects the value.

Pheonike nailed it - it is the voting power of individual votes, rather than the total number of votes, that determines the payout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35