Over uninvested

in #investment7 years ago (edited)

I was down by the lake trying to get some photos of the sunset but without clouds it was a little ...meh, so I came home. I walk inside and my wife is sitting on the couch watching the hockey world championship final. "It's a boring game."

I have sat with her through quite a few games that have near bored me to tears while she has sat on the edge of her seat, watching way too noisily. So why was this game so different?

She is a Finn. The game is Canada v Sweden. 

Btw, Sweden just scored on some nonsense luck. It is 1 - 0. End of the second period.

Now, Finland lost the bronze to Russia a few hours ago, so my wife has no horse in the race. Therefore, it is a boring game. I told her if she is going to waste time and electricity watching a boring game, she should choose a team to barrack for and emotionally invest in it for the time it is on.

Sweden is the arch nemesis of Finland in all things. I don't think Sweden know this however. Even though there is hundreds of years of pent up rage against the neighbour, she chose Sweden. Maybe it is because she speaks swedish fluently, or maybe she is a masochist punishing herself over the poor showing from her country's team. Some kind of penance.

When they scored a few minutes ago with a Looney Tunes goal, she said "typical, The Swede's always get these type of lucky goals!" 

She went to bed. So much for her investment.

Since I am still awake, the reason I write this is because I find it interesting how little it takes to find something interesting or not. Just a little attachment, in this case nationality. My wife has no investment in the Finnish team other than being born in the same country as the players yet will scream and curse like a sailor on leave if the referees make a mistake (in her opinion) against her team. 

While a Finnish game is going, it is we, our and us. This continues if Finland goes on to win. We won, our team played well etc. Of course, if a loss gets chalked up, they lost. 

Distancing language.

Canada scored. 1 -1.

This is of course not limited to sports and nationalities. In business when a company gets good results, you will hear the CEO praising hard work and good management decisions. When the results are poor, it is the market situation and tough competition.

It can also be heard in any kind of like/dislike situation. If a product someone likes sells well, they will praise it, if it fails like a Galaxy note, distance or silence. The same person may dislike iPhones and every miniscule failure is shouted from the rooftops, successes go unmentioned.

This even works in religions in the same way. If someone from another religion does something deemed terrible, it is denounced and met with resistance where the religion itself is to blame. If someone from their own religion does something similar, it is because that person is crazy and broken.

There are many more examples.

When people are invested in any way into something, it is very difficult to remain objective and see events cleanly without emotional attachment skewing the view. It doesn't matter what kind of investment, it normally translates into emotional colouring. 

This would be the same for many stock and currency investors too. Someone that prefers steem over ethereum or someone that like ...doge, will have biased emotions and invest in line with their position.

When people are invested, they are holding a position and will therefore give biased opinions and advice. Or, like one of my brothers, when he invests into a poor product, he will tout how good it is in the hope someone else will follow him in. This seems to make him feel better about himself (I learned my lesson young). Conversely, when he invests well, he actually directs people away from the product in order to maintain exclusivity.

When people are uninvested, they are also rarely objective. Often, the 'no skin in the game' give opinions much less cautious than if they were playing with their own resources.

Still 1 -1. Sweden are on a power play.

This started at "It's a boring game". As you can see, it doesn't take a lot for me to invest too much into thinking about something. The questions this raises in me is:

  • Am I objective when invested/uninvested
  • Do I see when someone is invested emotionally and filter information accordingly
  • Does my trust in someone affect my filter
  • Do I give objective advice when invested or uninvested myself
  • Will thinking about this change my awareness and attention
  • Will reading this change yours

Who knows. I have very little money to invest but a lot of time to think about it. Time is money?

One piece of advice I think is quite objective: Don't trust the invested, don't trust the uninvested. This may also mean, don't trust yourself.

Helpful?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Oh, the game went into over time. I turned it off.
I bet everyone is jealous of the image quality too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05