When dreams are shattered

in #investment6 years ago (edited)

Sunk Cost Fallacy



Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face. - Mike Tyson




So far the Year of the Dog behaved exactly according to the horrorscope, for a Dragon has to expect no sympathy from the cynical Dog, the one Zodiac sign with which relationships are ruled by strong animosities.

While the Ides of March did not only spell doom for mighty Cesar but also had some financial disappointment for me in store, it is now in the midst of sunny May that I stand before the ruins of my dream to become financially independent with a princely passive income.

About 2 years ago I invested in an online marketing company whose aim was to build email lists for its investors which they could then monetize themselves or let the company do it for a share of the profits.

So after 2 years, in April this year I was supposed to get 30 000 email addresses which I planned to let them monetize.
Meaning they would sell courses to them addresses on how to make it on the internet, shit like that, or whatever products sell or affiliate marketing, what ever. I don´t care what they do, it´s supposed to be passive income, so no need to think about it.

Rule of thumb is that you can make 1 € per month per address, so 30 000 € per months.
They would take a 50% cut for their monetization efforts, so 15000 € for me.
Email lists need to be maintained to stay top notch, because people lose interest, people die, go broke, so your list is losing its power, you need to get new addresses constantly, so they would do that also, so conservatively I should calculate with 6000 € per months.
After taxes probably 3000 € per months for doing nothing.
Sounds good? Bet it does. Probably too good.
The investors were informed now that due to “changes in the internet“ monetisation of those addresses apparently was not that easy anymore, one reason being the merciless spam algos of the ISPs like gmail.com etc., which apparently filter out lots of emails so the people don´t even get them any longer, not even in their spam folder, so conversion rates are very low.
So the company is now offering to either deliver the addresses to the investors but thinks the investors will have a hard time to monetize them themselves or, the alternative, they will pay back the investment over a period of 20 years with 7 % annual interest.
Finally I have a reason to live another 20 years.


My favorite sad song


Sort:  

yeah that's pretty shit alright, not much more I can say to you, reckon Johnny has that one covered for ya anyhow xx lesson learned and all that jazz xx

There are autoresponders that make sure the emails get delivered to the gmail addresses.

And email marketing and maintenance is not that hard. I have a list of 2000 and it makes me 200 - 300 a week.

I have hundreds of swipes files and info how to do email marketing.

I think you are still sitting on a golden egg here.

Thanks.
Since I don´t want to have anything to do with email marketing I wanted to let them guys do it for me, so it would really be passive.
Since I am not too optimistic about humans in general, especially when it comes to business, I can imagine that they would deliver some low quality addresses, just so they can say they fulfilled the contract and then I am stuck with that crap trying to monetize it.
I also have no products to market and don´t want to do affiliate marketing.
In Germany right now everybody is freaking out now anyway about that new internet compliance law where some lawyers can sue you if your website is not in compliance.
So I think I will go for that 20 year 7 % option and for what it´s worth, my investment was only about 4000 €, so when I joined I wrote off that sum in my mind as a loss immediately.
Those guys will probably go bankrupt soon anyway and then I won´t even get the 7 %, but c´est la vie.

How did u get those 2000 email address in the first place @hopehuggs, sounds like a interesting way to get an income. But I'm also just interested in building up an email contact base of relevant catagogries like ppl who like and would buy hand made jewellery for example

I sold a product on how to make money on steemit from a site called Warrior Plus and sold 2000 copies, so I have all the emails of the people who bought it from me and I send emails out each week promoting different IM products.

Wow that's amazing, you've done well! Thank you for sharing I wonder if other kinda of products can be sold, I shall investigate.

The Internet seems to be quite limiting although the possibilities should be limitless. I have a hard time work on building up my new pages so I can build an audience who would be genuine customers for my products. All the algrothims are now set against people and they have to pay for advertising and obviously it only works if u are able to put down alot of money on adverts. Sorry to hear that this investment didn't work out for u, I'm sure there are greater things on the horizon for all of us.

Thanks.
Frankly, my life experience so far comes down to this:
whenever there is stuff which I can do alone it works out great,
whenever I need to rely on or depend on other people to get stuff done, not so much.

Maybe you are a aires taurus scorpion capricorn? Well at least I think the signs account for how we work and how much we are independent or dependant. As a taurus i naturally gravitate to working on things solo but when done with the right people teams can be powerful!

Hi, I'm new to this platform. God bless your work and keep growing physically and mentally, I hope you go through my blog and follow me @carlosdap11

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65