Invest in what you love and believe in - and it will come naturally

in #investment8 years ago

For most people, money is something they work for. Something they need to cover their daily costs. And often they struggle even with small unexpected additional costs (not even talking about illnesses, nature disasters, etc.). So why - and especially HOW - should they think about investments. Savings of any kind.
Recent history showed us, that save harbors do not exist. Real estates (walk through the streets of Detroit), shares in huge companies (does anyone have shares in Volkswagen), currencies (a lot of people lost a lot with the British Pound and Turkish Lira). And interests for any savings at their bank? In Switzerland, companies have to pay negative interests...
So what to do. Where to put your money that you worked so hard for. My proposal: Keep it next to you - as close as possible.
What do I mean? Information is key. As more as you know, the more you are able to reduce the risk of loosing your money. Being one step ahead of the others will create opportunities to invest and secure your money from loses. Luck is only one part of a successful investment. Why do great broker subscribe to tons of newsletters, magazines, have 6 monitors in fron of them and get their noses everywhere. Because they increase their chance to know when to buy or sell. Of course you never can be 100% certain - but if you increase your hit rate to slightly above 50%, you will get more out of it than you invested.

In German we have a saying: “Do what you love and you will never work a single day in your life.” How to utilize your passion into investment opportunities? Well - utilize your information for your advantage.
Whisky. I love whisky. A friend introduced me to “the water of life” Six years ago. I loved it (it was a 12 year old Benriach). And so I started to try different vintages, brands, countries,… and soon I realized that there are cheaper and more expensive ones. But why are they that expensive? Both 15 years old, both from Scotland. But one distillery was closed years ago and the other was owned by a hedge fund. So I got into the history of whisky and distilleries. Six years later I have 300+ bottles and their values increased over the years by steady 25%. Even if the whisky bubble would end up in a disaster - I still can drink pretty decent whisky with my friends ;-)
I am interested in everything that has something to do with Whisky. I try to travel to distilleries every now and then, go to tastings and fairs. I spend quite a lot of time for this hobby. So why not using it to identify opportunities. I met a couple of dealers and “brand ambassadors” and got access to early releases, limited bottles and invitations to buy even casks. With this access to information, I can decide if the risk of investing in a bottle is worth it or not. And most of the times I was right. And I did not even had to push me to read a blog, an article or travelled to a fair. I loved to do all the things. So I can say that it comes naturally.

And I am quite sure that you have your own passion. Something you really like. Try to find something that you like to do - even if you are tired. Something you would do when you are on vacation or trying to relaxe. A friend of mine loves “Transformers” - he has already quite a collection. I did not know that there are even exchanges for such toys. And he loves to sit in front of them and show people, how they transform into cars, planes or animals. He loves it - and made a couple of thousands Euros with it.

If you find a way to monetize your passion, you will love to get access to information. You will be able to work more and harder and get the one important step ahead from all the others. And if - for any reason - this specific market crashes? Well - you hopefully saw that coming and secured your assets. Even if it means, that you enjoy your passion for this time “only” with your friends and family. Because that is worth something as well, right?

Sort:  

I have heard about whisky as an investment, but I haven't dipped my toes into that yet. I'd like to, but I'll have to get more comfortable with identifying bottles that are likely to appreciate. A potential obstacle here in Ontario is that sale of alcohol is tightly controlled, so my liquid assets might not be so liquid after all. I intend to learn more whiskey investing, and perhaps even discuss it on my new Fifty Tastes of Whisky series. In the mean time, if you care to share any hints on choosing the right bottles, I would be much obliged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51