What to expect to find in a bank box of American pennies and why you should try - Ep. 1 ** Giveaway **

in #investing7 years ago (edited)

20170714_105756.jpg

wheat-pennies-by-Lawrence-in-Houston.jpg

This is a post about what one $25 ( 50 rolls ) bank box of pennies contains and why you should try it . I plan to unroll one box weekly and post my findings here.

This particular box contained :

  • 16 Wheat pennies (Average is 15 - 25)
  • 7 1950s
  • 5 1940s
  • 1 1943 wartime steel
  • 1 1933 D ( Denver )
  • 1 1917 P ( Philadelphia )
  • 14 Canadian pennies
  • 462 Copper pennies (1959 - 1982)
  • 2,008 Zinc pennies (1982 - present)

1956-canadian-penny.jpg

Why you should penny search :

Did you know Canada stopped making pennies 5 years ago ? They round up or down to nearest nickel . Any pennies spent are sent back to mint and melted . This will soon be the fate of the American cent . Expect a rush for copper and wheat pennies when it happens . Get ahead of the game ! You could also find a rare gem worth big money like the California man who recently found a 1955 double die while searching a bank box .

1955-double-die-penny.png

** Giveaway **

1943-d-steel-wheat-penny.png

I find a steel penny every once in a while . They are not super rare . I find them monthly . I think they are cool though so to spice things up a bit I will give away 0.001 btc anytime a box contains a wartime steel wheat cent and 0.01 anytime I find an Indian head ! ( which has only happened a few times though) .

Since I'm new and have no followers I will roll it over to 0.002 for the next steel penny :) Happy hunting !

Happy to answer any questions anyone has , ask away .

Sort:  

Hi @johnnythefox. Could you post the estimated values of any rare pennies that you've found? I'm interested to see how much some of these rare pennies can sell for. How much is that double die penny worth? I used to buy rolls of pennies and look for wheat pennies and other old pennies all the time when I was younger, so this post piqued my interest. I found your post through your comment on the @minnowsupport resteem post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47