Stop Trading Crypto!! You’re (probably) no good at it…steemCreated with Sketch.

in #investing7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

This is a good warning to those who think they might be able to get rich by day-trading or occasional trading. I've traded plenty of both stocks and forex, and can honestly say that it's very tricky, very difficult, and not very lucrative.

The best strategy is buy and hold. Along with holding long-term, you can also do what is called "dollar-cost averaging."

That simply means that you buy a certain every week, or every month. For example, if you buy $100 worth of bitcoins every week for a year, the fluctuations in the price will have less effect on how much bitcoin you have at the end of the year. If you wait until the end of the year, when you have $5200 saved up, you will have missed out on the cheaper bitcoin over the previous 52 weeks.

Conversely, if you buy $100 every week and the price goes down, you end up getting bitcoin at lower and lower prices. And the chances are (particularly with cryptos these days) that the price will soon rebound.

To summarize, STOP day trading. START dollar-cost averaging.

Full Steem Ahead.

Thanks for the comment

I dollar cost average in both stocks and crypto but trade neither

I do sell a lot of put options on a monthly basis. Some may consider this trading, I don’t, as mostly I sell them and they expire worthless a few weeks later - but I do occasionally need to roll them out and/or down

Cheers

I couldn't vote on your post as it was ending too soon, but I will drop a tip! 1.0 here as a way of making it right :) Keep up the great writing buddy!!

Thanks!

I enjoyed writing this one, am thinking up another on a similar theme - can't do beer all the time - or can I?!?

Cheers

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-11-08-17

You have received a Whaleshare Token upvote (@officialfuzzy) thanks to @akrid.

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Why thank you!

Much appreciated - the recognition and also the upvote

Cheers

This is a solid article actually but many won't take this advice. Personally I've done well trading Bitcoin but it's not that hard to trade bitcoin when it constantly goes up lol.

Altcoins on the other hand have lost me a lot, I over diversified and lost track of my trades. I learned i need to keep it simple and just baghold the few projects i believe in knowing the money invested might as well be lost.

Thanks for the comment - I agree that many will carry on regardless - our Group 3 friends.
And that’s fine, it’s not my money they are losing...

I am buying a handful of what I perceive to be quality coins each month

Such an awesome and educative post @holbein81

Thank you- glad you found it useful!

Wait... Wait some more.. then start over waiting.. great stragety.. I like to buy small increments every so often.. but I invest most of my money in Steemit by always powering up when I buy

Me too - I buy a bit each month, from STEEM, BTC, BTS, EOS, IOTA
Am looking at STRATIS at the moment too

I got a friend who's a huge believer in STRATIS..

Buy wisely and then hold is great advice. I wrote this article which is targeted to people who feel it is too late to get in and participate in the exploding crypto/blockchain sector. https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@motowngold/bitoin-crosses-7000-dollars-what-can-you-do-about-it-some-investing-ideas-including-crypto-related-stocks

Thanks for commenting - I just checked out your post, I hope you are right about BTC - but if you are, then I don't have enough yet!!

Me either then actually, lol. I think in due time, I think it will shock. For now, it is going to have its constant fits and starts and pullbacks, and then rocket higher. I am not really trying to trade these things very much, just to get into the best positions and ride them. 2 of the stocks I mentioned, which is another segment that I think will be explosive, are up nicely today, SSC and BLKCF. The former has a well known chinese Billionaire backing it,Bruno Wu, and the latter, American billionaire JIm Rodgers involved. Exciting times never the less!!

Sounds good! I don’t have time or the technical background to look into and understand these smaller stocks. I tend to buy big established companies that will grow over time and pay me to hold them.
To boost that, I sell put options in a few companies or indices on a monthly basis - this generates an additional approx 20% per year on the value of my whole portfolio
At the moment I am taking a bit of that free income and diversifying it into some crypto

Cheers

Sounds like you have a very solid actual plan. I have sold puts before as well, can be great especially on shares you own that you may sell anyways, no risk at all then.

Yeah, I have been doing it for quite a while now
I keep my portfolio approx 80% in high high quality stocks and the rest in cash
Each month I sell as many puts as I can, using margin on the entire portfolio, but leaving approx 20% on the table in case there is a major event or buying opportunity
I only sell puts in those same highest quality companies, or indices, and I do it as a credit spread to limit the downside - so even in an Enron situation my exposure is significantly reduced
Price stays flat or goes up, the put expires worthless and I keep the option premium
Price goes down a bit, depending on my strike price I am probably still ok and the put expires worthless, I keep the premium
Price goes down a lot I have a whole bunch of rescue options, plus a stock that I like has just got a lot cheaper so I can buy more

I wish I had started 20 years ago...

Brilliant post buddy. Loved reading it. Totally agree with you. Trading is not everyone's cup of tea. One requires expertise and experience to trade cryptos. For common people its best to buy and hold long term. Its a proven fact that very few traders are indeed successful. One wrong call and you loose it all. Upvoted and following u as always.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Hi Nainaz, thanks for the comment/upvote/support - glad you enjoyed the article!

Much less stressful to sit back and hold,

I fully agree - it's nice to be able to sleep at night...

Nice post @holbein81, that's true that a lot of people is losing on this game... I think the point is to blame the investor, and not the game itself ;) Steem on!

Steem on indeed - thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83