Market Pumping at it's BEST (what did I do?!?!)

in #investing7 years ago (edited)

You ever get that feeling right after you do something that maybe that was not the smartest decision?

I had bought a stock in a company based on a recommendation from somebody I meet when I was working as a volunteer for a charity about a year ago. I don't work a 9 to 5 job so from time to time I have been know to do some charity work.

There was a fellow volunteer I met that day that told me about this company he has been investing in which could be on the verge of curing Alzheimer's. He told me about how he painfully watched his mother suffer from this disease a few years ago and he had conducted a lot of research as to who was working on the cure in hopes to help his mother. She did eventually pass on, but during his research he came across a company he thought was well on their way to finding a cure. He then reached into his jacket pocket and pulled out a pile of little slips paper that he carried around with him with the company's name on it. He had told me the stock was way down from his average price getting in because they are in research and development and there has not been any recent news. He also told me that his whole family is invested in this company.

At first I was suspicious, because who the heck walks around with little slips of paper in their pocket and passes them out with a stock tip on them? This is a first for me. I came to the conclusion that even though it was suspicious, it is not like he was a professional stock pumper pushing company after company. I believed he was just spreading the work of something that he was passionate about from his life experience and he had done a tremendous amount of research. After doing some reading on the company and following it for a bit I decided to purchase some stock in the company.

After buying on positive news (buying high one of my specialities haha) the stock drifted lower and I was down roughly 30% on my original investment. That all started to change last Thursday. I noticed on my watch list there was some movement in this company but no news volume is a little higher than normal. Friday the stock went up 40% on very heavy volume still no news from the company. I wondering what was going on. I found a message board that there was some stock pumper promoting the company. I am thinking this is going to come down quick within the next day or so. I should probably sell first thing on Monday.

The stock went up another 25% at market open and then started selling off. So I sold when it is up about 15% for the day. So then the stock ends up reversing again and goes up and up at closes up 50% today. So I then found a link to the actual stock pump from this guy called Ray Blanco

This pump is a very long sales pitch on the company filled with get all kinds of get rich statements.

So I was thinking yeah I did good to get out on the hype and overall return for less than a year is 40%.

Then I saw what I thought could be genius move from this pumper which made me feel like at the very least I should not have sold my whole position. That was a statement in the pump that was saying there will be a big news announcement on February 14th. I don't really follow stock pumping too much, and am not sure if this is normal, but what a great way to hold new money in the investment and have the stock skyrocket for the next few weeks.

So right about now I feel like I have left a ton of money on the table. If there had been news from the company I would have been inclined to hold but just from some stock pumper I did not think this really will last much longer as people start to get scared on a drop. So I am feeling a bit of regret I did not hold on to at least half my position. Here is the 6 month chart chart. You can see the price spike and volume is just crazy this last few days.

So what does the steemit community this about this stock pumping story. Is this guy Ray Blanco great or just a scam artist???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38