Helping Friends Understand Bitcoin & Cryptocurrency

in #investing7 years ago

21765500_10155190324511359_6868201775457767556_o.jpg

I just finished an email to a friend that I refused to automate.

If you're wondering why I would automate an email to someone I keep close in my circle, it's because I've been writing the same letter about 10 times a week. The news about Bitcoin is spreading and most of my friends in their 30's or wanting to start families are thinking longterm investing. They come to me because the crypto / alt-coin space is complex and confusing... hell, I have to call @lukestokes once a month to gain insight myself and I've been doing this since 2012.

So I'm asking for your help


I love this Steemit community and what better way to improve my process than to ask people that are most likely going through similar experiences. For total transparency, I've included the letter I wrote below, word for word. What I'd like your help with is:

  1. Making things easier to digest
  2. Making sure I'm not getting too technical
  3. Adding value to the conversation
  4. Making sure my difficulty levels are accurate
  5. Helping me see what I'm not seeing

I want to be the most informed I can be when giving my friends advice and anything you have to share is welcome. I'm a designer, so I have thick skin. Point out my flaws, critique my spelling, talk about my mom... whatever you need to do ;)

And please, feel free to use any and all of my letter when crafting emails to your friends.


Yo!
I’m actually in the process of updating my website to direct traffic about purchasing Bitcoin. I get about 10 requests a week.. but I didn’t want to automate for you buddy ;)

So total transparency… I don’t charge for helping people buy and understand crypto currency, but I do use referral links for small bitcoin bonuses. I’d appreciate it if you used my link, but its not mandatory.

So to buy bitcoin, you need a bitcoin wallet. The easiest to use in Coinbase.
https://www.coinbase.com/join/52a618fd15374f60710000f0

What I like about it is it’s super easy to link your bank account. What I don’t like is that you don’t control the private keys so essentially, you don’t truly own the bitcoin. However, there have never been any problems of coinable ripping people off. BUT… if the world ended tomorrow and you survived and bitcoin was the only surviving currency accepted, you would probably not have access. So… I usually buy there and then move to a more secure wallet where I own the private keys. (that’s level 2 stuff though). What I also don’t like is the waiting process. Sometimes it takes 5 days to use the bitcoin you buy.

ALSO hackers are good man. Use a crazy hard password and setup 2 factor authentication via Google App. Write down your secure code when you install it on your phone after you scan the QR code!

Want to put bitcoin on a credit card? Then use Coinmama
https://www.CoinMama.com/?ref=gomatthew

Fiat (government money) takes time to get into the crypto system, but CoinMama takes credit cards for instant transfers. $150 daily limit if you only provide DL# and more if you go through the whole process. You’ll need a wallet address to send to, which Coinbase provides.

My professional opinion… everyone can find $500. Coinbase offers 3 coins that are all proven with huge growth potential. You should study each of them.

Bitcoin (BTC)
Ethereum (ETH)
Litecoin (LTC)

I’d buy $200 worth of BTC
$200 worth of ETH
$100 with of LTC

Once you own these coins, you can then buy other cryptocurrencies if you’d like. That’s Level 3 shit. If you decide to do that, you would need to use an exchange.
Here are my recommended exchanges:
https://cex.io/r/0/up109024255/0/ & http://www.bittrex.com

You have to get your bitcoin onto these exchanges before you buy. That’s Level 4. If you go this far, I recommend a few coins:
EOS
BTS
ARK

Let me know how far ya wanna go man, I’m happy to help.

Cheers to the family!

Thanks everyone! I really appreciate your help with this.

If you like what you see, I’d appreciate a follow and I’ll do the same.
GoMatthew-GEEK.png

Sort:  

I am new and i have similar problem too,but i have coin base so why do i need to buy bitcoin and am completely cleared on how to make money on steemit.thanks

Sure thing, glad you're investing early!

Good one.
Thnxxxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51