Taking Profit On Tesla, Opening Palladium/Platinum Trade

in #investing5 years ago

investing portfolio tesla-3984107_1920a.jpg

I closed my Tesla shorts today (I sold a put type certificate in Frankfurt), with a decent profit. Tesla shares were at 308.80 on October, the 2th, 2018, as I began to short them, and now, are by 231.90 (approximately a 25 percent fall). The initial certificate price provided slight leverage, so in reality, I gained 35 percent in total.

Tesla in another channel?

But my opinion didn’t change really much about Tesla, I think more growth and earnings are priced in that it should be by realistic expectations. Tesla maybe a wonderful car but the factory probably won’t be very profitable.

But in my experience, Tesla pretends to move in channels, earlier between 300 and 380, later between 250 and 350, approximately. I suppose a new channel can be evolving now, perhaps between 200 and 300. Anyway, I will look forward to other entrance points to short it again in the near future.

investing portfolio tesla palladium TSLA.jpg
(Click chart for higher resolution. Stockcharts.com)

Fund-raising expectations

I realized Tesla fell 18 percent in the last 12 months, and the Dow Jones Automobiles and Parts Index, 16 percent. Not really underperforming. A lot of bad news is priced in at the car-makers prices already, maybe a rebound is near. Tesla announced a capital fund-raising through the issuance of new shares and debt earlier. I suppose they will prepare some good news soon to attract buyers. Although, if the fund-raising would fail, that could push the price really low in a new abyss.

Sincerely, I also needed my own fund-raising to realize my new plan, in precious metals. That was a further reason to liquidate the Tesla short. I wanted to act and accomplish the new idea, shorting palladium and go long on platinum. Because the spread of the two precious metals is near an all-time high (the Platinum to palladium spread is near all-time lows). Palladium seems to be overvalued and platinum, undervalued. (I wrote about it yesterday.)

investing portfolio tesla palladium.jpg
(Click chart for higher resolution.)

Liquidate VIX Trade?

Parallelly with the Tesla trade, I bought VIX shorts earlier. It was partly a good idea, one of the trades is moving in positive territory, the other buying, near zero. But I panicked in December and sold the half of it, unfortunately.

I’m scared of VIX now again, after reading this article of The Felder Report about the very high institutional short interests. Actually, I’m more long than short, relatively optimistic, although, the palladium short and the gold mines I still have, can have a positive impact also in bearish stock markets.

Two legs better than one leg

I’m trying to trade asset pairs, make dual trades where one leg is complementing, balancing the other leg (but both have a chance of winning). The platinum/palladium is another one, although, I suppose, these trades can stay even 1-3 years in my portfolio.

In fact, I bought platinum 2x long ETC (4RUM) and a palladium daily short ETP (1PAS.MI). Another option was buying certificates in Frankfurt, there are hundreds of them only following these two metals. But they seemed more expensive for me, and they have mostly at least 2x-3x leverage, and are expiring shortly, in some months.

(Photo: Pixabay.com)

Sort:  

Coincidence on timing on TSLA. My trade was over a much shorter timeframe (March 4). I used US-listed put options which worked really well. I did choose to close out this week as well with 134% profit for the whole trade - the leverage power of options. See TIB418 for the summary at exit time.

I should learn more about options, certificates are too expensive.
What means TIB? Tracking Investment....? (I have seen the post.)

#tib is my tag - Today I Bought. All my investing posts have it. Makes it easy to find them.

Good to see you profiting on that Tesla short. I always get concerned that people just burn their money shorting hype stocks.
Well done.

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems I have come through this Tesla on YouTube before

This post has received a 16.07 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 87.04% upvote from @spydo courtesy of @deathcross! We offer 100% Payout and Curation.

You got a 34.36% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @deathcross!

@deathcross purchased a 72.15% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

You got a 29.39% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73