Danger: Is This The downfall of Steemit ?

in #investing7 years ago (edited)

After many days of not being able to post , comment or even vote on other people posts, I feel somewhat disappointed that the issue has not been 100% resolved just like many other steemians expressed in their posts examples @lukestokes eating-your-own-dogfood , @surfermarly  An Open Letter To My Internet Love

 , and yes  @berniesanders  satire -however nerve racking post  @ned, don't you think it's time to fire @sneak and hire a real CTO?  (plus many others not mentioned here) .  In light of all these, steemit still remains and will be my number one and I do understand that the platform is still on beta and shit happens (I am ready to be patient till everything start working well) however there are some points to note:

Pic source .

  • It send bad signals: This issue has taken long time and still not perfect, and therefore will send bad signals to new members and investors trying to join steemit.  Most worryingly, is the issue of bad press which can go viral .
  • Missing out : I miss reading and commenting posts from all my top followers . Examples @papa-pepper (my great  wild man) educative wild life posts , daily posts by my  fellow gentleman ,especially Thursday with uncle boom by @meesterboom - including @exyle  , @sweetsssj@lukestokes  and @slowwalker educative posts (plus many others not mentioned here). In fact ,  if this is not resolved, how will many steemian who depends on this platform to feed their family or even pay the huge expenses of steem fest take care of their bills ( Lol this is no joke and should be resolved accordingly).
  • Embrace failure and learn: Successful companies or people embrace failure in order to learn and grow. Therefore, this should be a learning curve for steemit inc in order to learn and prepare for the influx of millions of members from next year.
  • Patience and support is the key:  above all these, am sure that if all of us united as one : All for one, One for All in support of the work going on behind the scenes , this issue will not even be noticed by many. There is no 100% efficient technology and steemit is not perfect yet and thus need our support ,  patient and understanding-  @ned and Steemit CTO @sneak have my full support.  Importantly,  do not forget all the amazing work going on behind the scenes example SMT token, steem fest and HFORK 20 –all these will put big smiles on all those who have steem power by next year when steem price will shoot up to the moon.


 Do you agree? Send in your comments and or  suggestions  please would you up vote my post in order to send in your support, click follow in order to see future posts from me on your feed and resteem in order to share this post with your followers. 

See my former post: Bitcoin , Steem and other top Cryptocurrencies : scams or strategic opportunity to freedom and wealth creation ?


For those who want to be an investor in Bitcoin wallet see X coins link: https://xcoins.io/investors?r=v93e2z  

Sort:  

Steemit is long term platform, no matter is some of us are disappointed with lagging problems, steemit is unstoppable and this low price is last chance to buy low if you ask me.
Steem currency has great team and very stable techs. Steemit is just web page

Good poin...however is the site working 100% for you now?

Not always, but i use https://busy.org/ when steemit has error, so i never have problems

Good point, I agree with you.

Users that don't trust the platform might have trouble with the Unstable nature of Steemit though?

Keep in mind that the only exposure the 'average Joe' has to concurrency is with BTC. Which is mostly covered with a great pinch of skeptisim in the news.

nice post as always @charles1
I am for steemit all the way...in good & bad times... steemit is my home... steemians are my family... my occupation is to keep steeming hot... and my reward is steem while my bank is powering up steem!!!!

Good pls take out time and read @berniesanders posts about this issue...hahaha what a guy

I did already ...what a satire...very funny guy ...gave it a comment too...😋

Hahaha that is @berniesanders for you...he even has a long dispute with almost everyone including @dan his older posts will make you wonder hahaha

Nice post

what is nice about the post?

The price drop does not concern me for all the reasons you stated. What concerns me is the competition: will every minnow/flounder/small sea creature jump ship to the next blockchain based social media site trying to get in on the ground floor and build a following early? Being first is a big advantage since by the time new ones pop up there may be >200k users on steem and a large number of active ones, but user retention will be tough if people think they can do better elsewhere.

A cheaper Steem price just makes me want to buy more Steem at this point, but what if there will be a new similar platform like you say, it might get people wavering.

I am a loyal person and I love Steemit. But I would be lying if I said that one of the biggest motivators to be on steemit and spend so much time here is not the money aspect and my hope and confidence that Steem and Steemit will grow. Without proper communication from the Steem leaders it's more easy to loose hope.

Now recently the sight has gotten an upgrade and I feel it functioning much better. But most likely there will be future problems appearing and I hope the communication will be better then ..

Good point, I agree with you. Is the site working great for you now?

"will every minnow/flounder/small sea creature jump ship to the next blockchain based social media"

Steem has a very big headstart. Because we already have a decent userbase and a good amount of content

If we write enough quality content as a community. Other platforms should have a hard time getting by.

In the end the whales decided when-ether the minnows can get a fair share of the pie. So watching whale behaviour is more important than the countless minnows we have.

Personally, I am bit concerned: SMT seems to be the main focus right now. They performed some "fireman" fixes due to the DDOS, but the web front-end needs more additional love and we need to have the "community" features to improve the content/curation and filter out some noise to improve the visibility of posts, comments, upvote .... It is mandatory to improve the retention of users.

I agree...hope the ste is working now for you or not?

Hi! @charles1
You have spoken the minds of many. I have had such concern too. I add my voice to request the AUTHORITY concern redeem the time and stop steemians from discouragement. Thanks for your post.
@praise-eu

I agree with you however is all working ok for you now?

Thanks for the shout out. I'm really encouraged to not only see the site working better since yesterday afternoon, but also to see the developers themselves commenting more frequently and answering questions on the most recent steemitdev blog post.

welcome @lukestokes glad that you liked my post and sent in your support. I guess that they saw your post and start thinking about eating their own dog food...hope that all remains great here and I wish you a pleasant journey and time at steem fest...happy weekend.

we will hope things are finally turned around, although it has put a dent in steemit... but hopefully over the long haul our frustration will only be a footnote.

Good point @clumsysilverdad I agree with you..we all will be all smiles come next year after all the updates and SMT implementation...isnt it

i totally agree with the point of it being discouraging to new members because how am i supposed to even help register new members and all....but then i really understand its at the early stages so we can only be patient and stand with the organization for it to succeed...thats the team steem spirit...lol

Good point @tolarnee however is it working great for now now?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @charles1 to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

@blueorgy what do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50