You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Investment Diversification? "Diversification is for idiots!"

in #investing6 years ago

I followed you until you just redefined diversification and told us to diversify ;)
In the end, it depends on your resources, but my experience tells me it´s sometimes way better to don´t diversify at all and concentrate on one thing you really believe in.
Diversifying is a way to play it safe and there are many good arguments for it - I know...
But take the crypto world for example - if I believe (just as an example) in projects like EOS and STEEM, why should I also invest in Bitcoin and Ether. Just because it´s "logical" to own the top 2 cryptocurrencies and to play it safe? No, I did my research and I 100% believe that they have the biggest potential in the market - so my funds go there and nowhere else until something convinces me otherwise.
This may not be the most "professional" way to approach things, but the moment I diversified my attention and energy in my past life, I learned, that it is always better to concentrate on one thing/project and stick with it.

Sort:  

Ironic considering your bio starts with "Embodiment of contradiction" :-P

Diversification is a touchy subject I'm finding. I personally believe in systematic diversification of investments, while focusing your primary energies in your career/business. Real Estate is awesome, but if it isn't your career/business, it's best to exercise patience and be very selective about the deals you pursue. Investing in paper, same thing, be calculated about it and stick to areas you know and understand. Commodities/Cryptos... not my area of expertise, invested a bit as a learning exercise, but agree with you that researching the coins available and investing in ones you feel have the biggest upside and strongest business case is the best approach as opposed to having a sporadic portfolio of hype coins...

None the less, thanks for the comment. I may have to follow up with a "Shiny Object Syndrome" post.

See, even my bio is contradicting what I´m living! I´d call that crazy wisdom and pure authenticity! ;))) Thanks for your insights!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65