Being an Introvert: What that means to me

in #introvert6 years ago (edited)

Introvert-Vs.-Extrovert-2-1024x627.jpg

The dictionary describes an introvert as a shy person, a person primarily concern with his/her own thought and feelings whereas an extrovert is an outgoing, sociable person; someone primarily concern with the physical and social environment. I don’t always agree with this definition. Yes, some of it can be true, but I think these terms need much more than a simple dictionary definition.

I consider myself to be an introvert, whereas most people I meet assume I’m an extrovert. I socialize easily, I’m comfortable around people and I’m not really shy or socially awkward. So why do I consider myself an introvert then?

980x.jpg

It comes down to the definition of the word. Not all introverts are automatically shy and socially awkward. For me being an introvert means that I don’t get my “energy” from talking to people but rather from spending time alone. Whereas extroverts need people around them to feel energized. Social gatherings drain me and even though I love to go out with friends I do also need some alone time just to gather my thoughts and “recharge”. As an introvert a night in with a glass of wine catching up with my favorite series sounds just as fun as a night out.

anne-frank-PhD-introvert.jpg

Introverts aren’t loners, we are just silent thinkers…and yes, we also have our problems. I find it difficult to have a conversation with strangers as I’m much more comfortable talking to someone I already know.

Being an introvert is just another one of my characteristic traits and it doesn’t mean that I’m “less than” or “inferior” to extroverts. You don’t have to be loud to be heard and just because your voice doesn’t dominate the room doesn’t mean that people shouldn’t be listening to what you have to say.

Irresistible-Introvert-5.jpg

Some other sites about this topic:

Sort:  

Love this! We really do have the loudest minds, and a lot to say... to those who take the time to listen. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29