STEEMIT TIPS- Circlejerks, "elbowing," and spitting in the sea: essential challenges of life cycle growth on steemit

in #introtosteem7 years ago (edited)

Growing up is hard to do. You start as a minnow trying to find one person to say "Hey, your content doesn't suck!" You shift to a dolphin really trying to lay your unique brand. You end as a whale trying to figure out how to curate and how to lead.

Being a minnow is hard work

First, you don't know what you're doing. The learning curve on steemit isn't insurmountable, but it isn't easy. Getting even basic writing tools down a la Word or Word Press is a challenge in the available editor. If you're not technical then it's going to take a few weeks, which as a minnow is going to extend the lengthy times that you're going to spend writing hour long posts for pennies that barely anyone views. That's what I'm calling spitting in the sea.

You have content to share, but the audience is awash in content. You provide minimal benefit to others on a selfish level as your vote isn't worth much and your ability to resteem and make an impact is negligible too. It's not easy finding your way on here as @dbzfan4awhile expresses quite well.

I see a lot of these kinds of comments as I've focused energy on the Minnow Support Project. I saw them first hand too. 1 month ago I was a minnow still spitting in the ocean.

Your minnow challenge is to get noticed, find an audience, develop a voice, and gain the technical knowledge necessary to make visually appealing posts. It's a big hump.

Toss your elbows out and carve your niche as a dolphin

The dolphin stage I'm currently in seems to be a lot about branding and growth. I'm trying to take my message to the next level. I want peace, abundance, and liberty, but I also want people to respond to that and interact with it. I want to talk about truther related commentary, but I want it to be palitable. So, my brand on here which seems to be working ok is straight talking funny guy. It's also educator, helper, and supporter as I take on initially self imposed responsibility for this place as a witness that have since blossomed to vote induced obligations.

My vote is still only worth $0.05 at full power. So, my upvotes aren't really making a financial difference. What I can do is talk to people here, on discord, and on steemit chat in order to help make introductions and meet new people. Those kinds of connections have value and help onboard new people and grow user accounts already in place. I can also resteem. Now that I have 1050 followers I'm in the top 120 accounts on steemit by followers. I've watched posts I've resteemed go up by $40-50 and watched them get a whole new host of followers.

To me, it's the follower count that's the most important. I make enough salary from work that I can pay my bills and use this place as a savings account. I love my upvotes, but each upvote is temporary. Each follower is a long term gain. So, at this stage I think of my work as trying to elbow my way out of the crowd with some unique stories and help.

Growth, branding, marketing, marketshare... steemit blogging is a business, and thinking in those terms can help you reach more people.

Whaling is largely about curation

If you listen to the whales they'll talk about challenges curating. That's a big thing them. Curation is steemit mining, and if you have a lot of Steem Power then you have a shit ton of steemit hashpower. A big chunk of your goal is to maximize that, but how you maximize it can bring about pretty large consequences.

One of the fastest ways to curate is to think of it as mining, rely on bots, and upvote friends and fellow whales with big strong votes. It's a pretty fast way to get a followback doing the same thing. As a consequence you end up with a circle jerk. You see a literal shit post with 1 image and no text earn $600. That's part strong networking, but it kills everyone else who is working their ass off to get $0.07. But for the whale it's a fast way to thank a friend for their support on their shitposts. It's good business to keep your white glove customers happy. It seems like a pretty small kickback for a person that made it, but probably had to go through the steps like everyone else... they're just already on the good side of it.

That said, as soon as you start circle jerking you start catching flack. Honestly it seems as soon as you start whaling you catch all kinds of people. First off, you'll probbaly get a letter from me asking for a witness vote. Second you'll probably get 8000 people asking you "hey can you check out my post? You don't need to upvote, but just give it a look." Third, you're catching shit for the bots you're almost certainly running.

Curation guilds are gonna be the future of this place. Whales supporting unique types of content they want to see. As the price of steem goes up and the reward for doing this goes up so will the group work/collusion/community. There's too much money not too. You can make $1000 per week just upvoting posts as a whale. Toss in a few shit posts and you easily break $100k a year. There's a lot of incentive.

So, what's the tip?

Here's the essential problems:
Minnow: Getting noticed
Dolphin: Building a brand
Whale: Curation

If you can help people solve those problems you're gonna have a nice pay day.


Please vote for me for Witness!





You can find me hanging out on steemspeak, a discord channel that many steemers use to text and talk to each other- https://discord.gg/qjpRj7w

You can find me in Whaleshares- https://discord.gg/GykFB6S
or my new channel PALnet- https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw
I can also be found on steemchat as @aggroed. If you have a post to share give me a good sentence or two of why you think I’ll like it.


There are 8 dead witness accounts above mine.

Sort:  

very good post my friend! I am just about to crack into the 10000 sp range and will be changing my methods up here a bit for this long next level phase.

You gotta! It's a new stage. Thanks for commenting and congrats on that acheivement!

Great post!
Isn't it great when you upvote a post and see your upvote listed in the top 20 votes? 😀
Question for you: What steempower do you need to achieve to be considered a Dolphin?
Have a great weekend!
🤜🤛

SWEET!
I'm a pretty Dolphin! 😀
🐬

Pretty sure you just described the exact path I and many others are on.

That minnow phase isn't always for the meek, takes some fortitude to push forward for the duration. Especially if you start here from scratch as opposed to coming over from a reddit or FB group like some have done.

That is why embracing the community and enjoying the networking effect of it all is so important. It's good for your social being and is also what grows your followers organically.

Proud to be a dolphin after all the hard work and hope to continue educating folks about personal finance, especially those that are scaredycats! :-)

Great post @aggroed

Thanks boss! Very thoughtful comment.

I upvoted this post and literally gave you my 2 cents 😅

The process of growth is much more clear now. I really feel that anyone that has the mentality I will do whatever it takes and work to see it happen will be successful.

cool! Thanks the hope!

Good info! Question...Just now went to vote for witness. We are to vote for 30 different candidates?? Also to whom do we delegate voting power and what are the benefits of doing so? Sorry, more than one question lol

You can vote for up to 30. It doesn't hurt to vote for more than one. I'm an active advocate for @ausbitbank and @teamsteem but there are lots of great choices.

As for delegate voting power... I think that's still a witness question. If you delegate to me then you basically are saying "I'll vote for whoever aggroed chooses."

Thanks a ton for your support!

@aggroed I see you need some help with the circle-jerking, how about we double Dutch rutter and then switch sides every 5 minutes so our arms don't get tired.

Ok, but at the end I get to be big spoon!

All I can say is .....WOW Yes I understood every word, and glad someone is doing some thinking for me/us.
Thank you
Im at a crawling stage, and happy - you my friend are soaring in my eyes !

Life is Good @ steemit.com

complicated but good :-)

Glad it resonated Cody. I'm living it too!

Super busy today, but had to know what spitting in the sea was, that's a new terminology to me, and turned out it WAS ME, woot woot !

It's all of us when we first start!

I know that now ! Silly I read your Blog LOL

Yep. I have 3 home schoolers, a disabled husband, and a farm to run so I've decided to speed up the learning curve by clicking buttons. Allllllll the buttons. Apparently I am powering down my 6.89 in steem power now. I figure I'll know what that does in a few days ;) Riches and glory ahead lads! WOOHOO!

Oh, followed, resteemed, and voted you for witness...see how pushing all the buttons works! Thanks for the help...

u wanna keep SP

Figures...well it isnt much at least.

Excellent! will vote for you now!

Awesome! Thank you!

Good post my friend and sound advice! I'm destined to remain a minnow forever... I write what I write. Have no idea what a bot is or how to make one- I only upvote stuff I have read and like. I've noticed that in the last day or so the Submit page seems to have changed... the writing box is smaller and the font looks different- I don't like it! I like being able to edit the entire context of my text lol!

bots auto vote on your behalf. So, that you're using all the vote power you have access to.

I know... it's just completely contrary to what I believe. I upvote on the quality of content ONLY. Nobody gets a free pass.

Then you'll like HF 19 a lot. Vote total goes down from 40 to 10 per day. So, fewer votes will use up your vote power.

That makes no sense... That cuts the legs out from under minnows that depend on a high vote total... What a bunch of assholes!!! I'm still not kissing any whale asses for upvotes!!!

Maybe currently, but in the next round of this you won't need quite as many votes to earn a little something. You're losing out every day taht you're not making 40 votes. You're losing your curation money. So, by having less votes you'll be less screwed out of that and it should lead to a better distribution of curation rewards on teh platform. Maybe over time that will lead to better overall distribution on the platform. We'll see.

All my votes come from other minnows, so it sounds like I'm fucked!

I consider myself to be a dolphin, thank you very much ;>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56