#introduceyourself@ravijojla

in #introduseyourself6 years ago (edited)

Good day, dear Steamers!

Almost a week and past several posts now, here is my #introduceyourself.
I'm particularly happy that my friend Darren popped a word about this place. With every new day I find it more and more enticing. The stories I have read so far revealed to me a wonderful world, such marvelous dreams and so welcoming people. It is a pleasure to be accepted by you.

Ретро аз.jpg

My name is Maggie Kostova. I'm Bulgarian. I was born in one of the most ancient towns that was a capital of our medieval kingdom. In Vidin I live near the Danube and the majestic castle, which was constructed in the 9th century and is entirely preserved nowadays. Every summer we enjoy the medieval Budin festival organized by the popular society Modus Vivendi. Habits, drinks, food, garments and battles are restoring the past every year. My place was once the home town of many Muslims, Jews and Christains and we are famous with the Tolerance Triangle in my neighbourhood where one may see an Orthodox church, a Mosque and one of the Synagogues of best acoustics on the Balkans. Vidin is also the birthplace of the famous painter Julius Pascin who has mainly lived in France so you can find him under the french painters category.

15672745_1819784191609088_6559435267090828968_n.jpg

I'm telling you more about my hometown because it quite formed my personality. We are all here the River people. I love to walk down the Danube park, have a chat with the old fishing men or just sitting at the river to read a nice book or maybe watching its water flowing. I love the Danube river. I feel secretly connected with all those who has inhabited the places at its banks all along from its spring in the Schwarzwald mountain down to the river's delta at the Black Sea. It's a huge community and an enormous heritage.

fortress-3345942_960_720.jpg

When I was a child I wanted to become a surgeon and got secretly involved in after school classes in biology and chemistry. I guess, we have enough doctors in my family, so I jumped into the marketing and brand management waters of the economy. Nowadays, I am an EPP consultant and I take care of the funds and the business development of several small and medium enterprises. During the past 5 years the team I have been working with assisted the emergence of an English bakery and tea room, a charcuterie, a business incubator and a couple of crafts venues. Among the major clients I have is a municipality in NW Bulgaria and I really enjoy the improvements we help happen in everyday people's lives.

20160316_132432.jpg

I love Jan Anderson and Jethro Tull's music. Lately I'm more into jazz, but I also adore the music and books created by Đorđe Balašević. I may say that I have a decent voice and I sing orthodox chants every Sunday. I'm impressed with Divna Ljubojević and her voice. Among the things I create and restore are frames, boxes and all kinds of drawers and small furniture. I love to work with wood.

46_004.jpg

I travel a lot. The last time I spent over 10 years in Belgrade. I presume I was captured by the charms of its ambient. I love Belgrade...and it has a Danube, which is an advantage in my humble opinion. I love to read a lot, especially English, Russian and Serbian authors. I think J.P. Wodehaus should be prescribed as a remedy at hospitalizations.
I'm attracted to Florence and the French Province. The narrow cobble stone paved streets and old houses with window jardinieres in small places are so similar to the world I'm creating for me and I hope that you'll spend a great share enjoying your stay with me here.

Welcome!

28577931_10215490977570018_8251317468037220141_n.jpg

/Photos by Maggie R. Kostova, Pixabay and the Bulgarian Ministry of Tourism/

Sort:  

Hello! That's much better! I like your introduceyourself. We have alot in comun :) have a great journey in Steemit and a great day!

Thank you for encouraging me! Have a splendid day!

That is a top class introduction right there, very well done.

Thank you, dear!

Excellent - now we see a little bit more of who you are!
My husband is also a huge fan of Jethro Tull!

Life by the river seems very peaceful and focused on community! You live in a beautiful environment!

@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Thanks!

This is particularly why I'm fond of Steemit. We share common things and the community is very supportive.

This is so interesting. I met John Evan from Jethro Tull two years ago at a beach barbecue. His wife is hilarious and they were so fun to chat with. He asked my husband to teach him the guitar but then there wasn't enough time. Small world and so many connections...

Welcome Maggie! I look forward to reading more from you!

I've looked up J.P. Wodehaus as I had never heard of him and am looking forward to delving into his work - I'm always up for a good laugh.

In Peace, Love, and Health ~T

The Welcome Wagon The Welcome Wagon Appreciates You Emblem Rollin in to say Hi!

Hey, Tamala! Thank you for stopping by. Well, he is an English writer, who spent half of his life in the USA. Any book of his is a good start. Blandings castle is a huge laugh. In case you prefer, you can watch it filmed on youtube with Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry in the cast.


Enjoy!

I downloaded his book Three Men and a Maid - do you know it? The title caught my eye and quite a few of his works are free on Amazon - so that's a win.

Thanks for the YouTube link! That's awesome I can't wait to watch it!

Great! Haven't heard about that book. Let me know your thoughts when you finish it, please.

Hi Maggie and welcome. I found you through @welcomewagon and I'm glad they took you under their wing. They found me too a little while ago and I've learned soooo much from @dreemsteem. Your description of your hometown and the river is beautiful. Enjoy the ride on the welcomewagon and beyond. There is so much to discover here on steemit. It widens one's horizon because you get to know perspectives other than your own much more than on other social media platforms. I find that very educational and enriching :)

Hi, dear! Thank you for your kind words. I am particularly happy to be among you. Have a wonderful day!
We will be in touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28