What Wolf shall I feed?

in #introductions7 years ago (edited)
() Fox Glove personal photo
Have you seen the movie Tomorrowland? I watch it every chance I can because it teaches me to ask the question "What Wolf shall I feed?" A bright teenager is taught by her engineering father to review her thoughts and ask which wolf shall she feed; the one that is pessimistic, or the one that is optimistic.

She embarks on a mission to "unearth the secrets of an enigmatic place somewhere in time and space" (according to Walt Disney World)that seems to predict the end of the world. She "saves the world" by helping 'George Clooney' realize that the structure that got built in Tomorrowland, is actually bringing about what it is predicting because it is a huge beacon just sending out huge thought and image pulses to Earth of a dire future. I want to be one of those people who sees a world of possibilities.

As I introduce myself at Steemit I want to be careful what Wolf I feed. As I have listened to the story about Steemit, I find myself realizing this could indeed be a paradigm shifter.

I
So despite naysayers inside and out, I commit to contribute and try to help create a new reality. Then see how it goes and help do my part to contribute to a new way of doing things. I'm committed to being myself, saying what I think and seeing if there are like minded people here. It is an act of trust.

I have not always been a trusting person. But over the decades of my life, I have come to see that most human beings are really decent people, no matter their politics, religion, or philosophy.

I learned that in many different job settings. Now I am learning it where I live which is in an intentional community of condominium owners. Sure we have 73 different points of view, we have at least that many truths, our own darker sides shows from time to time when we become passionate about whether to put in for example, concrete sidewalks, or stay with gravel. But by and large we stick it through and make decisions that are best for the whole group.

I call myself "we can be sublime" because I have spent over 50 years looking at the darker nature of us human beings, and now I want to spend the rest of my life reaching for the best in myself, and looking for the best in other people.

My name is Anna and I live in Bellingham, Washington, and I think it is paradise. As I write here, I will include the beauty of the bountiful world in which I live. 0608172057d_HDR (2).jpg

P.S I have already found such writers as @denmarkguy who is producing incredible content and who inspired this entry. Many thanks to my brother @probizranker who shared this visions with me.

Sort:  

Well done for your first post, and may it be the beginning of thousands more.
You are very welcome, glad you joined!

Thank bro. You are the best. You really inspired me by telling me that I have so much to share. Your seeing me in y "greatness" has been very meaningful.

Hello Anna! So nice to see a fellow Washingtonian here on Steemit! You seem like a gardener to me, based on your photo of digitalis. Hee! We are having a beautiful summer and I think the blackberry harvest this year is going to be spectacular. I look forward to your future posts and interactions.

Hello back 'Crystal' @Crystalize. I am a gardener. Hee Hee. Love having you respond to my post and finding out you are from Seattle. I read your intro and left a comment. Isn't this a wonderful time of the year, but I love the other times of year too. Blackberries!!!! Blueberries!!! Can't wait. Yum! I'm going to be in Seattle tomorrow at UW for a medical procedure. I'll think of you. Maybe sometime if you are up this way, or I'm down your way, we can have coffee or tea together.

That sounds wonderful! Hope UW Med treated you well.

UW Med was sensational!!!!! I loved it. I walked down from University Inn to the water, and it was a fabulous afternoon, no clouds in the sky. I wish I could include a picture in this reply :)

It sounds like you had a wonderful day. Nice to hear!

I had never been in the University District to just roam around. OMG, it is beautiful, and the University is so big!!!!! What part of Seattle are you hanging out in @crystalize?

Hi @wecanbesublime! I 'm a north-ender. Woot! It's funny how people in this state have a strong preference for either north of Seattle, or south of it.

I thought about you as I roamed around. Went down to the water and watched some people kneeling on paddleboards was so fun.

Congratulations @wecanbesublime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you @steemitboard. I appreciate my award for the number of comments received. Thanks for doing this work and making such awards available. It helps inspire me to do more.

Hi Anna... welcome to Steemit, and thanks for the shoutout! I do believe we are part of a potentially great opportunity and change here... I'm not yet sure "what" Steemit is, but it's quite unlike any other social content site I have been on.

Great intro... hopefully just the first of many great articles!

Thanks @denmarkguy. I appreciate you taking the time to read it. Yep. Your work has been meaningful to me. I don't know completely what Steemit is either, but I decided especially after reading your work, that I am going to focus on making it the reality that works for me. If I receive money, well hip hip hooray, but what is more important to me is to create a culture where I can be my truest self, share a little of what I know, build relationships and make a difference. I love Reality Shifting metaphors because my mind can then see possibilities that didn't exist before. I suppose I should write about that! Please keep up the great work you are doing.

Congratulations @wecanbesublime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very lovely post and pictures. Welcome to Steemit! I know you will love it here.

Here's a follow from me to help you get started building your audience. :)

@stephmckenzie, what a wonderful reply to my first post. Many thanks for your warm welcome to the Steemit Community, And thank you very much for your follow. I will follow you as well. It gives me hope to connect with new persons such as yourself. To realize that we can create a paradigm shift in how people treat people. It is so cool.

Thank you, @wecanbesublime. It's very nice to meet you.

Steph, I am Anna. I loved your introduction post. We have so much in common. We both are writers, don't like to be told what to do, so a very interesting job path for sure, I love, love, love trees. We have a Madrona on our property here at Bellcoho, and is such an amazing tree, grown usually right on the water. I left you a post on your introduction. Have a great day.

Thank you, @wecanbesublime. I appreciate it. It's nice to meet you. :)

Cool! I follow you. +UP

Congratulations @wecanbesublime! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55