Consume or create? A path back to Myself.

in #introductions7 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_11-13-12.28.50.png

It was a little over a month ago I was sitting in a hospital bed getting ready for emergency surgery. I had kidney stones and was unable to pass it and they feared I may go septic.

20171114_120438.jpg

I knew I would be fine, but when faced with your own mortality, you ask yourself some simple yet complex questions.

What mark did I leave?
What would I change?
Etc.

For me recently it would be a.)none & b.)everything.

I've always fancied myself a creative person. Drawing, music, photography, writing, all of it. I started art classes at 9 but was never at the head. That didn't stunt my spirit or growth as an artist. If anything I saw that as a challenge.

20171220_055347.jpg

I became self taught on 6 different instruments. I did my senior thesis on "photography & subliminal messaging."
It wasn't until I lost all structure that I let go of my art and turned to consumtion.

Hours upon hours of taking in others creations. Endless playlists and YouTube video streams. The never ending scrolling through thousands of photos I should have been out taking, instead I double-tap and scroll on. I've made nothing for half a decade it would seem.

PicsArt_11-25-05.27.24.jpg

Flash to post surgery and I'm handed my new phone with a stylus and I start to draw. As I doodle something sparks in me. That creative fire I had been missing for so long. Then and there I challenged myself to create something new on that phone every day for 30days. Digital doodles began springing forth. I found inspiration in everything. The artist awoke by a digital muse.

20171220_055420.jpg

That was 45 days ago. Now I've stepped away from the all digital platform and am exploring all that my heart has to offer. I hope you stay with me on what will turn out to be a most excellent adventure.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lostimecreations! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50