My Newest Chapter: Adventures in SteemIt Land....

in #introductions8 years ago (edited)

It's about time I introduced myself. I love writing, but getting out in front of people...not so much. I've already written a few blogs and comments. But now you can put a face to the name.  So let me tell you a little about me.


These days, I am more commonly known as Jon and Alyssa's mom, but it wasn't always that way. Once, a long time ago, I was the oldest of five daughters. We lived in Oregon until I was a teenager, and then moved back to Oklahoma because....well....this is where most of the relatives live!


my youngest sister looks a little grumpy in this photo, doesn't she?


I started college right out of high school, but never finished.  I got married, had kids, got divorced. Somewhere around that time, I decided that finishing college might be a necessary thing if I was going to support myself and 3 children (did I forget to mention Steve? He's my oldest son who lives in Washington State). 

I went back to college after the age of 40 and completed my Bachelor's degree in Psychology. I absolutely LOVED every minute of it! I think people who choose to go to school when they're grown have a better idea of what they want, and more appreciation for it--especially after life has knocked them around for a while.


I get stressed, too.  I'm sure I don't have to tell anyone here that life doesn't always turn out the way you planned. Oh wait! Didn't someone else say that first? However, being a pessimistic optimist, I try to look at the bright side of things--after crying over the gloominess for a bit.  


About a year ago, I hit a gloomy spot. I was terminated from a job I'd done for almost 8 years. Needless to say, I was a little depressed for a couple of months. But I knew I needed to make a plan and decide what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. That's when I discovered the tools for writing ebooks on Amazon's Kindle program. I self-published my first short story (flash fiction, actually) in April of this year. It has been an exciting time for me, and one I would never have even had time to learn and execute if I'd still been working full time. 


So, for that, I'm grateful. I'm still writing. Still reading everything I can get my hands on. And now, I'm loving the new adventures I'm having with SteemIt. Thank you for providing this platform for us to play/learn/grow on!

                                                            And I hope to be here a very long time!








Sort:  

THANK YOU Judy :)

Hey--I've read a lot of your posts, @craig-grant--great stuff! Love this place!

Welcome to steemit:)

Thanks for the warm welcome, @cryptoiskey!

Welcome to steemit. i will wait for you post.

Thank you, @crowtactic21. I'm keeping an eye out for your posts, also!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44