Knowing Myself and Accepting My Fate

Not finding out about my health status,till the age of 18 was disheartening,but above all, I have to accept who I am.
Born on a Wednesday in the 5th month of the early nineties, I grew up to believe that am as normal, as every normal human out there. Despite the red flag given to me on every sporting activities in school then, making me me stay away from anything sport, I still never read meaning into it.
People would always ask, "Are you sick", " Why is you r eyes yellow or do u have jaundice". That was the reoccurring question I receive every time, but my answer has always been in the negative.
The only thing I knew, that always takes me to the hospital as a young boy then was Bronchitis pneumonia, as I was told, this made me frequent the hospital then due to my exposure to cold as an infant. And Aminophylline injection, has always come to my rescue then.
At age 12 my frequent visit to the hospital drastically reduced, untill that faithful evening.
It was the 2nd semester break of my 2nd year in the university, and I have woken up that morning with a little waist pain which became serious by evening. I was rushed to the family clinic, and all the doctor could ask was "Why have you refused to accept who you are?".
I couldn't give an answer to his question, for the pains was much despite the numerous injections given, and the drip flushing down my veins. Next I heard was he must undergo a transfusion, and he needs its urgently.
Within the next 20 minutes a blood bag was going down my veins, after undergoing the necessary screening, from the blood bank which it was gotten from and the hospital itself. Within the next couple of days I have taken like 3 blood bags down my veins,but it was sweet to know the drastic pains were no more.
I was smiling and waiting to get discharged after spending close to a week in the hospital. It was time for the morning ward round hospital routine, when the doctor got to my bed he smiled at me and only made two sentences which are " Accept your fate young man" and "you are discharged".
In a couple of weeks after leaving the hospital, my semester break elapsed and I had to return back to school. With the doctors words ringing as a bell in my mind, I walked down the university teaching hospital, and presented myself for a genotype type. After several hours of waiting, the result was out, with Genotype Ss clearly and boldly written on the test paper.
I was confused and depressed, but who do I blame, I have to wake up and accept who I am like the doctor advise.
After all it isn't a death sentence....2Q==.jpg

Sort:  

It is sad to hear what you had to go through, I myself have also gone through health problems, so I know that when you suffer the most you would not even wish that on your worst enemies.

I am happy that you know what has been the cause of your illness.
May your best days still be ahead of you.
You deserve a healthy life.

Thanks,and thanks for your good wishes

Congratulations @victorpromise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @victorpromise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58884.60
ETH 2504.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45