From my first time with cryptos to now

in #introduction7 years ago

First time I read about bitcoin was in a technology/ science magazine called MuyInteresante, it was at the end of 2013... when the market capitalization of bitcoin was smaller than the actual Ethereum market cap. Bitcoin was making all-time records (about 300$ per coin), I read articles about the philosophy, the mysterious Satoshi Nakamoto and the general idea about the technology being used. All the people was crazy talking about the possible uses of it and the possible big change in the monetary system

I was thinking about investing in it (I bought a little amount of NXT and tried to buy some Litecoin with a friend) just before the "bubble" exploded and the news, investors and economists where talking about the bitcoin scam, all the lost money in a few days… after all, I was discouraged from investing my money in it.

Maybe the statement: "The bitcoin is only used to buy drugs and weapons" have helped the popularization of bitcoin, because illegal things uses sell much more than: "bitcoin can be used in some shops that sell normal things".The WannaCry attack asking for them too has helped a lot of people to know and there are possible new investors in the sector.

download.png

After that, I only read articles occasionally about the expansion of bitcoin ATM's in my city, the investments being made in the blockchain technology from banks and an overview about the price.

So, at the end of 2016 a friend of mine started to invest in Monero, the anonymous cryptocurrency, I remember saying something like "The project is interesting, I SHOULD buy some of them", but nothing happened. Just 3 month later in the 4YFN event in Barcelona, where something finally changed my mind, there was Vitalik Buterin talking about his biggest project, Ethereum! After doing my own research I bought my first one when the price was about 40$ per ETH.

In another article, I will write about my recently and planned inversions in the mid-long term.

Thanks for reading! it's interesting to know if you also had a similar or a very different experience, share it in the comments ;)

tumblr_o3pd43aAlD1u60tx6o1_1280.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46