Hey! Take a look at the new guy

Hello everyone, I'm new here.20171122_165828.jpg
A friend of mine introduced me to Steemit and I thought I would try it out. Here is a little bit of what makes me who I am.

Who I Am

I am 29 years old and I have lived in Anchorage, Alaska my entire life. I am a husband and new father. Long time Star Wars nut, avid gamer, and an Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighter. My free time, well, that doesn't exist (the boy just turned three months). In the free time that I do have I most likely spend with my beautiful wife or playing video games.

What I will be doing on Steemit

I am currently working on setting up a gaming stream on www.twitch.tv/treatimus_prime. I should have that set up within the next few weeks. I will be posting about my experiences streaming and gaming. I will be posting about what being a husband and a new father is like. I might also post about movies, new and old.

First series

I have always loved drawing even though I am not great. I also have always had trouble thinking of ideas to draw. i recently got a book with 300 drawing prompts on the pages. I am going to attempt to have a post a day with the prompt for the next day and my drawing from the previous days prompt. I invite all of you to draw with me everyday to improve on your skills or show the community how much of an artist you are as I will be posting a select few every day along with my drawing. If you are going to participate, please reply your drawings into the post with the prompt you are drawing by 7pm Alaska time on the next day (for reference Alaska time is 4 hours behind Eastern and 1 hour behind Pacific). For the first prompt I will give you two days to complete your drawings, which will be 1/7/17 at 7pm Alaska time.

First Prompt

Angel Wings

Thank you for allowing me into the community. See you in two days.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! @aksounder is one of my favorite people on here, so you're definitely cool in my book! I'm a writer, not an artist, but I'm excited to see you grow as one!

I wrote a guide for new users that I share with them when I encounter them, hopefully it comes in handy:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

There are also a lot of really good resources out there for minnows (new users). You should check out the following:

@qurator
@thesteemengine (Check this one out first!)
@originalworks
@steembasicincome

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way there through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other minnows you run into!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @treatimusprime to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you very much. @aksounder was telling me about you so I checked some of your posts. When I have more free time I will definitely read more of them. They are very interesting.

Wow, what a welcome post you've crafted mountain! There's a couple things here I was unaware of and will be checking out for myself. Perhaps this is why you left me in the dust when it comes to rep and upvotes... well, and the extremely well-informed, educational gem posts you make. ;)

I'm "one of your favorite people on here"? Well shucks bud, thanks! You as well. Do you hang out at any discord groups based from steemit? I'll have to start stalking... I mean hanging out with you there. And I'd definitely want to buy you a beer if I'm ever in your neck of the woods next time I'm in the PNW.

Thanks for stopping by and giving my friend a warm and helpful welcome!

Yeah, I do! @thesteemengine is the main one I hang out in!

And yeah, if you're ever near Portland, definitely hit me up!

Hey @treatimusprime, congrats on the baby :)
Welcome to Steemit!

Glad to have you on the blockchain buddy! Hope you have fun on Steemit and I look forward to your posts. Soon you'll understand all this crypto mumbo-jumbo I blab about. You're here, so it's official. Now you're one of us.

Welcome to steemit! The only advice here I can offer is to stick with it, and enjoy what you're doing here. Post for the fun of it, post because you like writing, post because you have spare time, whatever. Don't post for the money. The money comes later...maybe, but don't do it just for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65