Introducing Me to Ya'll

in #introduction8 years ago
Image and video hosting by TinyPic


I would like to introduce myself.  I'm a soon-to-be 80 years old girl of the fifties who remembers my grandmother telling stories when I was a child of how the Confederate soldiers would stop by her house when she was a little girl to draw water from her family's well for a cool drink


I'm a real product of the South where cotton is known as “white gold”.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


After marriage a farm was our livelihood where we raised a family and did our best to contribute to the growth and progress of our area


Farming was a good way of life back then even though, financially, it tended to be feast or famine depending on the weather..  We would pray for rain but not too much rain which was a never-ending cycle


After retirement it was so nice to realize that whether it rained or not didn't impact my way of life too much.


Back then on the farm we raised cotton, soybeans, corn, pigs, cows, horses, sheep, ducks, chickens, gardens for personal use and a slew of pets that included a rabbit, a cat, 2 dogs and even a raccoon named Coco.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


It was truly a busy but fulfilling life.


Some of the sayings that I grew up with in the South and are still uttered today you may recognize as well:


Chester drawers -A chest of drawers


Barking up the wrong tree- you are talking to the wrong person about that


Bless your heart- a statement of pity


Roasin ears- corn on the cob


Put it up- place it there


I reckon- I guess so


Croaker sac- a heavy duty sack woven for transporting heavy produce like potatoes



Over Yonder- over there


Too much sugar for a dime- the cost is too much to make sense


Galls me- rubs me the wrong way


Sass- children's back talk


Pert near- almost


I will be writing more on this platform God willing and the creek don't rise= if things go as planned. 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic




Sort:  

I hope you do well here and find this exciting ,good luck to you.

Thank you.

Welcome young lady :) to Steemit. Lovely to have you around here. Thanks for your nice words on my post https://steemit.com/steemit/@kakradetome/i-m-bringing-my-dunkin-donuts-crew-to-steemit-and-the-different-things-they-call-me-at-work-no-racism-was-involved-here-it-was. Very great post here. Looking forward to more of your posts :)

You do pretty well for age 79! nice post

What a lovely post. Hope you decide to write more soon.

Thank you very much. I have several post ready but just haven't had time to get them up! I am now following you.

Look forward to them.

I love hearing stories passed down. What a treasure to have a grandmother who told you stories and you remember them! I heard some from my grandmother who was a pilot in WWII. It's so amazing to hear how different things were less than 100 years ago and, to hear history from a real life person. Puts things into perspective. I look forward to reading more from you :)

Thank you for reading. Wow, your grandmother a pilot during WWII. What a big deal that was back then. We welcome some of the changes but others....not so much.

hello team 101.have a nice day ahead=)

WOW! What a great introduction post! I've almost said welcome to steemit, when I saw that it is 10 month old! Great job and happy to meet you! Upvoting and following you of course!

Now following you. Thank you

Welcome. Looking forward to hearing more and hoping the creek don't rise.

Thank you!

Welcome! It sounds like you live the dream life. Can't wait to see more.

Thank you.

love those cotton fields - welcome

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64