Hi, I'm a young female non-white Muslim crypto-enthusiast and freelance writer

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Someone once called me a unicorn. I'm ok with that. I'm here to add some diversification.

ZeroHedge once published an article about the average bitcoin user. Apparently, the average bitcoin user is 'male (96%), 32.7 years old, libertarian / anarcho-capitalist (37%), non-religious (61%), with a full time job (43%), and is in a relationship (56%).' Of course, the data collection method can be disputed, but my point is - I don't hit most of the above. I'm 20-something, female, Malay Muslim freelancer from Malaysia (solid 12 hours difference compared to the States, as a comparison). This is me:

IMG_20160708_205328.jpg

I haven't been in the Bitcoin/cryptocurrency for long at all. In fact, barely 7 months now. Yet, I fell hopelessly in love with it sometime around Christmas 2015, and here I am now, exploring Steemit. I'm a published Bitcoin writer now, and write about other cryptos as well as Fintech reporting (shameless promo: hire me to produce content for you!).

Here are some of the things I've written:

I'm very interested to write more about cryptocurrencies from interesting perspectives and angles. For example, how does one calculate zakat in Islam? What do female bitcoiners like to do with their bitcoins? What is crypto for people living in different countries? (In Malaysia, many people are purely attracted to crypto as an investment)

I'm also remote-working for a Bitcoin startup - Wirexapp, which is a pretty cool startup that offers hybrid bitcoin-fiat banking platform with bitcoin debit card (incidentally, you can get your first card for free - look for 'wirex app' for Android and iOS, register, then redeem a card). I like this job very, very much :)

I guess I'm inspired to finally post here to add some color, some variety to the crypto world. So this is me saying hello, me nervously introducing myself officially, me wanting to learn as much as possible from y'all. Do check out my other articles here in Steemit and please be kind to me :)

That's all for now,
Suraya :)

Sort:  

Hi Suraya welcome to Steemit. I think your input will be valuable here and I expect to see some good posts from you!

Thank you, Jam :)

Welcome to Steemit!

Congratulations @suraya-zainudin! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @suraya-zainudin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49