Introducing snakes on Steemit!

in #introduction7 years ago

Hello, my name is Terri and I'm new to Steemit. Still learning and hoping to have a great time and educate members. my passion is venomous snakes, mainly North American pit vipers. I currently have 23 venomous snakes. I work with 3 local law enforcement agencies to rescue and relocate snakes. Poor snakes have gotten a very undeserved reputation an my life's mission is to educate people about these amazing animals. I'll be posting some videos and talking about my animals, feel free to ask ANY questions!

Sort:  

Welcome. No Step on Snek.

I recollected that her eye excelled in brightness, that of any other animal, and that she has no eye-lids. She may therefore be esteemed an emblem of vigilance. She never begins an attack, nor, when once engaged, ever surrenders: She is therefore an emblem of magnanimity and true courage. As if anxious to prevent all pretensions of quarreling with her, the weapons with which nature has furnished her, she conceals in the roof of her mouth, so that, to those who are unacquainted with her, she appears to be a most defenseless animal; and even when those weapons are shown and extended for her defense, they appear weak and contemptible; but their wounds however small, are decisive and fatal. Conscious of this, she never wounds 'till she has generously given notice, even to her enemy, and cautioned him against the danger of treading on her.

Was I wrong, Sir, in thinking this a strong picture of the temper and conduct of America?

– Benjamin Franklin

http://greatseal.com/symbols/rattlesnake.html

I try to tell folks that snakes are not all dangerous but are all beneficial. That said, where I was raised the diamondback was never welcome in anyone's yard! No way to tell families that they keep down the rats and rabbits.

Rats carry Hanta virus, squirrels, the bubonic plague. One rattlesnake can consume 60,000 disease spreading ticks a year via it's prey! They are a most valuable asset to humans.

And usually reluctant to strike a human. I know, I tried telling folks that (well, not exactly that, just vermin control), but they want the rattlesnakes dead. I was not willing to translocate them because that is often just a way to have them die out of my sight. This was Central Florida in the 80-90s and just about everywhere was someone's back yard or just about to become a subdivision.

snakes are very beautiful - Yes, attitude is extremely negative in people, but who are these people?

Welcome to Steem! I hope you can share some good stories about your work with snakes and the law enforcement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64