Hello STEEM. Greatings from Latvia.

in #introduction6 years ago

Hello.
We are a young family of 3. We live in Latvia / a small town called Upesgrīva. We moved here around 2 years ago from our capital Riga. The reasons are simple:

  1. on 04.05.2016 our lovely dother Harmõnija [Harmony] was born and we just couldn't stay in the city enymore - it seemed to poluted.
  2. we already had a property here, wich we got from an old lady when she pased away. At first we whanted to turn it in to a guest house, but it takes a lot of money and especialy time. Wich one we had only on weekends. So we desided to move here and try to survive in the country side.

IMG-20180131-WA0001.jpg

To be totaly honest: this is the place where I grew up. So its not like we are complete city people [although my wife Jana is from city Kandava]. But its not like I grew up in a farm with animals as wel. I know some basic stuf, but if I compere thing that I learned on internet and things that local people know then I haw to say "thank God for the internet".

So, what are we planing to do here? We had a lot of ideas. The main idea is that this small town is daying and we whant to turn it back to life again. It's located next to a gulf of Riga, and it has a wery lovely beachside. Plus there are wild / old forest all around the place. I think this place has a huge potencial for turism. That was our first idea: we could make a small camping and a bycicle rent. Rebuild old stable's second flor and make some rooms there. I'm obsessed with an idea about wine making. So I whant to make my own wine company. Sounds wery nice but there is one prolbem- money :D. So we are taking it slow. First step: I need to get some steady job / income. I made some nomey with crypto trading and now i'm living of of that. Second: we need to clean up the place. This property is wery old and it's full with all kind of garbige. I already cleened up a lot, but there is still a lot to do. We whant to plant apples, cherrys, black curant and other stuff all around the property, but since we are living next to a gulf, our soil is wery bad - it's mostly beach sand. I have an idea how we can improve that, but it is gona be diferent / more in detail post.

By far I just whanted to say "HI!" and get this STEEMIT thing going. I heard about steemit a long time ago. Since I was bloging and making videos before a friend of mine recomended me to start a steemit account. I whanted to do that from the wery begining when we started working here, and document everything, but somehow there was never time to do that. Now I made a rough sceduele and try make regular posts.

If your interested in subjects like: zero waste, farming, wine making, country side life style, you know what to do.

Have a great day today.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, looking forward to read more about country life and your wine dreams!

cool. heres a little sneak peek :D
IMG_20180206_185007.jpg

I really admire what you’re doing. We have a tiny farmstead in a city and wish we had more land by the coast. Have you considered aquaponics? You don’t need soil for that.

hmmm. not realy. it looks like its more resorse [time / money] demanding to make. We have a little piece of forest as well and my plan is to bring home some old rotening trees and use them to improve our soil quality.

That’s also a good plan. We looked into hugelkulture and buried some logs for a future bed. Good luck!

Skaisti! Very cool, good luck on steemit! Hope you succeed and on my next visit to Latvia I’ll drop by to have a glass of wine by the sea in your place. I love Kurzeme. Sveicieni Tavai gimenei :)

For sure. That would be great. We have had a few people stay at our place even before it was finished :D. We dont have any couchsurfing profile - they where just our friends friends. I love to find people through extraordinary channels.

Awesome! Now I work in the US but I bet next time I visit Latvia you will already be fully developed :)

Welcome to steemit, and your family is adorable!

Welcome to steemit @silini!! Looks like we are interested in a lot of the same stuff. look forward to your future post.😁

;)
What are you interested to see here?

Your zero waste systems and Ideas, farming, wine making, country side life style. Its right up my alley!

Welcome! Have a good time!

welcome to steemit platform..wish you the most

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13