Learn about us!! We are excited to be here with you all!

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Good morning everyone! Mommy/wife Rose here! It is in fact morning here in the beautiful Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania, USA. The sun is shining and I've already had my coffee (thank goodness!) so I can functionally take care of my 2 young boys haha. They're fed and I have my fuel, so now I can sanely write to you all and tell you about us! The Rose Family! My husband and I are originally from New Jersey and needed a change from the craziness that can come from living in the Garden State, especially when you live in beach towns like I did my whole life. We have been married almost 4 years and have two small boys (almost 3 and 7 months) and of course they're the most perfect little creatures ever!

Hubby is a scientist for an insanely big pharmaceutical company; which is quite ironic considering our stances on the pharmaceutical industry and the way we live our day to day lives. He commutes three hours a day and it's hell-for us and him. He spends more time playing the corporate game and being a slave to the system, rather than being home with his family. He feels like he is missing his boys' childhood; missing milestones and watching them grow. Plus the stress level from that place, forget it! When he comes home from work he can barely enjoy them because of the day he had. He came across this site yesterday and we are praying that this is a way that we can work from home and make money, spend more essential time together as a family and not be slaves any longer.

I am a stay at home mom to our boys, and have begun homeschooling our oldest. We feel there is nothing better than the one on one attention that our children can get from being homeschooled. I love to sew in my "spare" time (yeah I know, what's that, right??) and would love to do it for a side job to help offset the stress of the providing being all on my husband. Plus, "If you do something you love, you'll never work a day in your life"! Am I right?!? We like to think of ourselves as "crunchy" or "almost crunchy" if you will. I have had two unmedicated, natural births, we workout, eat organic as much as possible, love to make everything from scratch, do a lot of DIY (posts of which I'll be submitting in the near future), homeschooling, breastfeeding, babywearing....ok I think you get the idea! :)

We just want to live a complete, simple life on our own terms, and enjoy the time with each other while we are on this earth! Be on the look out for posts from my husband and I. I love to post about DIY stuff, sewing, and anything else that comes into my sarcastic mind. Hubby has an interest in biology, politics, current events, conspiracy theories.

Hope you follow us, give us a chance and learn to love us. We love to learn new things and hope we can do just that from you all! Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome! I homeschool too, and am a stay-at-home mom.
I'm going to suggest some improvements. Add the tag #introduceyourself -- that one gets the most views.
Spread out your main points into separate lines/paragraphs so that it's easier to read, or people will skip reading it.
You should insert a picture of yourself or some aspect of your life. People want to know that you are real. Some people won't give you their valuable votes until they are sure that you are real. Maybe hold up a sign that says "Steemit" with the today's date.
All the best on Steemit.

Thanks SO much! Excellent points and we will definitley be sure to improve our posts with your suggestions!
How do we add pictures to our posts?

You must insert a direct online link to the photo.
You can use IMGUR.COM to upload a photo. Then you click on the photo so it comes up in a different screen. Then you right-click and choose "open link in a new tab". Then you insert that website link into the post.

Thanks again for all your help!!

Welcome. I'm glad you posted your intro. You could add a link to your husband's page if you wish.

Such a long commute is rough on you both. I hope Steemit helps your situation.

Read tutorials and ask for help if you're having formatting issues. More paragraph breaks will make your copy easier to read, and photos help as well.

Thanks for responding! My husband and I are collectively using this page for now. Yes the commute is such a killer on us, not a fan if you can't tell!

Thanks again for responding!

One question: How do we add photos to our articles? I see others do it often and I know it becomes more appealing if we do include them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46