Complimenting strangers. A social experiment.

in #introduction7 years ago

Last year, I went through a 'mountain-man' phase, where I didn't shave for the better part of a year. At the time, it seemed exciting, since I always maintained a clean-cut look.

As the beard started to grow in, I was on the receiving end of a variety of questions and compliments. Here in the Philippines, facial hair is a rarity, so seeing a full beard is equivalent to finding a Mewtwo.

Going out in public was always interesting. For the most part, the locals just stared, curiously. I imagine they thought I was insane... I looked ridiculous, and the weather isn't exactly comforting; (90 degrees and 90+% humidity on most days).

However, at around the four month mark, when I was finally able to maintain it- I started receiving a lot of questions about where I was from, and for how long I have been growing my beard. Following these questions, came the compliments.

"It looks very nice, Sir".

"Your beard is cool, Sir".

"Awesome beard, Sir"

Now... Filipinos are, without a doubt... The NICEST and most polite people I have ever met. Hence always calling me Sir, when I am just 35 years old.

Receiving these compliments, really made me feel good. It actually made me want to go out more, and converse with strangers. Otherwise, I have social anxieties, and strayed from situations that would require me to interact.

In return, I gained more confidence in myself... And realized that I was receiving compliments, but never dished them out. How selfish of me! Sorry to say, giving praise to a stranger seemed a daunting, and impossible task.

How would people react? Will they think I am crazy? Is it impolite to openly tell a woman that she has a nice hairstyle?

Many women, spend hours getting ready to leave their homes. Even if they are just going to the grocery store to grab a loaf of bread. The makeup undoubtedly gives them confidence, but- I also believe that they want everybody to notice them. If they want people to notice them, they would welcome the compliments.

When I first started passing admiration, I was thinking too much. I would look for people that seemed likely to take a compliment well, and then find something about them I could give-praise-to. For sure, it took getting used to. Talking to a stranger isn't so common nowadays.

As I started taking notice of the people around me, I realized that before this experiment, life was passing me by. By spending more time seeking out folks to chat with, my head was on a swivel. New sights, smells and sounds were bountiful.

Now, when I go out, all the people I have complimented, and chatted with... Are noticeably happy to see me. Instead of a fake smile as I pass, I am now asked about my recent trip to USA. About my bitcoin. About my missing beard. (Yeah, I couldn't deal with it any longer). In return, I also ask in earnest, about events in their lives.

When I walk away after giving a compliment; I feel great. I am sure, the other person feels the same. Will they return the praise, to a different stranger? I believe so. I even imagine, that they will think about this throughout their day. When they get to wherever they were going, they'll arrive in a more positive mood; This causes everyone around them to catch the good vibes.

So the next time you leave your house, take the time to notice a fellow human. Make a concerted effort to pass a sincere compliment.

-I can promise you that it wont cost you anything, like an upvote on this post :)

_Rob

so_happy_to_see_me_ii_dogs__animals__cc09190c3e62a70a868fa1622d5eab2a.jpg

15844312_330604007339767_5426773456201573167_o.jpg

17097395_366622543737913_3854034122898131087_o.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @robcarter! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

It's funny how a beard can grow a conversation. Enjoyed the read. Thanks for the follow.

My beard was my wingman.

Thanks!

welcome here @Robcarter:) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me.

Welcome to the Steemit community, @Robcarter ! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

Welcome! Nice Introduction!

Thanks for checking it out. Was similar to your challenge. I will follow, to see how it goes :)

Hi @robcarter welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Hey! Enjoy steemit!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @robcarter! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75