My introduction

in #introduction7 years ago

Hello there!

My name is Ricardo, pleased to meet you all. I'm a graphic designer and game developer (and cat lover!) hailing from Maracaibo, Venezuela, but currently residing in Panamá with my wife. After graduating as a graphic designer, I worked for a few years in the industry, either as an agency employee or freelancing. While I enjoy graphic design my true passion is videogames and I've always wanted to make my own, so now I'm dedicated more and more time to develop games. So here I am!

My first experience in game development were competition (or as they are known now, game jam) projects. I also worked briefly as a freelancer for mobile developer CSP-Mobile for a few months. Aside from tons and tons of ideas and personal projects in different stages of development I have only released one commercial title. For this project I joined forces with my friend Adam "Snug" McLellan and while he handled code, music and sfx and game design, I worked mostly as a graphic artist. Truth be told, for two man dev teams you have to wear many hats, so I also dabbled in other areas, but essentially my mission was to improve the game's visuals as much as possible.

Operation Hardcore logo

The game, Operation Hardcore, quoting the website, is "an action-packed 2D side-scrolling shooter inspired by classic twitchy action games of yesteryear, but with modern touches and conveniences."

Operation Hardcore image 1 Operation Hardcore image 2 Operation Hardcore image 3 Operation Hardcore image 4

After many months of hard work on this project (and learning firsthand that making games is no easy task) we released on december 2016. We still plan to do more OH related development, but we shifted to a new project.

Undermine splash

Undermine is our stab at a first person survival horror game with procedurally generated elements. Quite a leap in complexity and challenge coming from a retro-influenced 2D action side-scroller.

Undermine image 1 Undermine image 2 Undermine image 3

We've worked a lot on this game too and we're currently improving generation logic and visuals with the goal of having a build for Early Access release soon.

As for me and Steemit, well, I'm always interested in exploring new platform. As a longtime user of Facebook, Instagram and Twitter I think Social Networks need a shake-up of sorts, and this platform certainly looks promising, not only as a potential source of income, but as a way to meet lots of interesting new people.

I guess that's it for my intro. Feel free to ask anything and I'll try to reply :)

See you around everyone. Ricardo out!

Sort:  

Thanks @snoopcane!

Welcome to the Family rchirino

Thanks for the welcoming! I need to learn how to Steem adequately.

welcome.. wow a game developer... I always loved the guys and girls making the games... For sure it's a heavy task..
I hope you vote for me as witness.

Thanks rival. Yes, making games is no play time heh many people think (wrongly) that since you're making games, well, its all fun and games, and nothing could be less truthful. Thanks for the welcoming!

Welcome. Dont give up right away. It takes a while to built followers.to help here is a re-steem and upvote

Thanks! I'm interested in seeing if there are other game developers using this platform. If not, well, we need to solve that collectively :) Once again, thanks for the warm welcoming.

Absolutely!

Welcome @rchirino . The social media blockchain party is just getting started. It may take a while to build your account up, but it will be well worth it.

Be sure to check out Dtube and Zappl which will enhance Steemit.

Thanks for the welcoming! Yeah, let's see where this takes us. I'm mostly interested in learning about game developers and promoting my work as a game developer and graphic designer.

Congratulations @rchirino! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your work looks incredible. I think you have a lot going for you to speed momentum here. Welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50