INTRODUCEMYSELF, MY FIRST CONTENT ON STEEMIT.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

FB_20170130_20_49_20_Saved_Picture.jpg
Painted by my self (Pio)

Hello Steemit Members!

Im new here and this is my first Introduction post...

I`m Pius!
A Tanzanian artist currently living in Tanzania – Africa.
I am a painter; story writer; local photographer; Craftsman; an actor and a singer.

My work as an artist has made me develop interest in tourism as well; so through my blog, I will be able to share with you on all the mentioned areas of interest.

Living as an artist in Africa is quite difficult and very few usually succeed.
Most artists die poor, whereas the business personnel managing and promoting their work amass wealth at the expense of the artists (I will revisit this topic in the near future).

Painting in Tanzania-Africa depends highly on tourism trends i.e. when tourism is at its peak.
This period usually starts in June and ends in March; between March and June the tourism levels are usually very low or not at all.

Tourists are usually interested in the works of local artists especially the paintings. Once they purchase the paintings, an artist is able to earn some revenue.

Painting is a gift to me from God; I never attended any school or training to guide me on how to paint; I just found myself good at painting.
However, I faced several challenges and opted out of it.

One day I received a call from a friend who is a tour guide at Mount Kilimanjaro, inviting me to move to Moshi in Kilimanjaro province, where Mt. Kilimanjaro located.
After giving it a thought, I decided to go to Moshi and pursue my God given gift of painting.

From Moshi town, one has a clear view of Mount Kilimanjaro; so from this site, the tourists are able to easily access our workplace, buy paintings and make orders of paintings of their choice.

During the high peaks of tourism, some tourists take interest in learning how to paint.
Below is a photo of me offering painting lessons and techniques to tourists.

Screenshot_20180510-193518~2.png

1525969907617-775898511.jpg

Screenshot_20180510-193451~2.png

Most tourists who frequent Tanzania and Zanzibar like animal paintings.
We usually paint using different painting styles namely: Maasai knife painting style (painting is done using a special knife); Tingatinga style, Lilanga style among others.

Later on, I started sourcing for outside market especially through showcasing my work on the internet.
Currently am able to sell my work online although it has its share of challenges as well.

Below is an art I sold to Australia in 2017.

FB_20170130_20_49_50_Saved_Picture.jpg

Thank you for reading through my story; I have shared about painting artists on this blog, however in the blogs to follow, I will share with you more on other fields including photography and videos touching on the real life of an African living in Africa.
Also in the future i will share with you how to paint african painting
I will also share very many untold stories that one cannot find on television stations.

I need your support Guys....!
Upvote me and i will upvote back to you......!
Follow me and i will follow you back....!**

Any comment, message....i will appreciate that!

Thank you.
PIO

Sort:  

I just love your talents.

Thank you very much @kasimile, i appreciate that

Welcome to Steemit.
I like animal paintings. Traveling to Africa is on my 'to do' list. 😄
I am looking forward to your posts. 👍

Thank you very much Boss, im going to share with you....Appreciate it!

Welcome to steemit! You have done well

Welcome on steemit :-)

Thank you Boss

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemschool on discord channel today

Thank you very much, i will...

Welcome to steemit @pioartist, wish you fortune on your journey as a steemian and as artist. Love the painting btw :)

Thank you very much for the support...

Hey @pioartist! I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!!!

Thank you very much mate....

Interesting info!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44