Animal Fries: Where's the Steemit Hidden Menu?

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

It's easy enough to google Steemit for Dummies and find out the basics (what is SP? where does the money come from? etc.)  That's not the aim of this article.

Knowing that Steemit's format could look radically different in a year or two, I'm approaching my first month on this social media platform as a researching minnow.  Trying to figure out where all the buttons are and how well everything works.

WHAT ARE THE HIDDEN FUNCTIONS?

Recently, it was brought to my attention how you can change your article tags on a daily basis via the edit button.  This was obviously a great and insightful tip for my newbie ass.  It also made me wonder, what else is hidden within Steemit's functions that I may be missing?  

Now, I'm not expecting to find a literal hidden menu like there is with In N Out.   My aim is simply to get to know Steemit as quickly and efficiently as possible.  Thus, I've been looking for any and all tips that users have learned or discovered like the above that go beyond what you'd find in the FAQ or 'Steemit for Dummies' type posts.

I understand the nature of how this is about taking the time to build a community.  This post is specifically about scratching my curiosity relative to what others have learned by accident or trial by error that may be similar to the tip above.

Have people found #hashtags to be helpful?  

How about creating your own tag?  

Is there any better way to save past posts for reference beyond commenting on them?  

Has anyone discussed making a Steemit internet locker (like what Reddit has with the saved section)?

Here's hoping this sparks a conversation on the subject that can shed some light on any other hidden menu like functions within Steemit.

Sort:  

Nicely written! I'm interested in changing the tags daily and quantifying the analytics :)

-B

Thanks, man! I'm curious to know what you find when changing the tags daily. All I saw was that they switched -- keeping there 'rank' relative to the timing of the original post (so they don't just pop up higher in other tags, just an FYI.)

How far back do you go on changing tags daily? As far as I know you cannot change the first one.

I've been playing with it over the last week (trying to make sense of it, figure out what it actually does, etc.) For a couple, I did it every day until they 'expired' on that 7th day. As for the first one not changing -- I've experienced that on all except for one, on one day. And I'm still not sure if that was a fluke or if I did something different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52