View the world with me

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Good morning Steemit community. First off, a big shoutout to @heiditravels for introducing me to this awesome platform and big another shoutout to her interview that went live on Yahoo Finance. I am excited to be part of this epic and growing movement.

I am a 27-year-old jack-of-all-trades seeking out the beautiful world that surrounds us through the viewfinder on my Olympus EM5 Mark II. I've been a lot of places and seen a lot of things, but I never truly stopped to absorb the awesomeness that stood before me. Over the years, I've developed this desire to step back in time and live with less. As an early adopter of technology, I've spent countless dollars on new tech, cool gadgets, and interesting things. But, what does it do for me (us) but disconnect me (us) from the natural way of living? Don't get me wrong, our tech development has done wonders for connecting people, but at some point, we became connectedly disconnected.

A year ago this July, my father passed away. Maybe this was the icing on the cake that pushed my internal conversation to the edge and shoved me over. I've come to realize that we do not need, but can live with what we have. His entire life was filled with long hours, sparse promotions, and only in his later life did he begin to actually live for himself. I will always be thankful that he wasted his life to build mine, but his life taught me a valuable less: do not stop growing.

I was the first child in my entire family to go to college. After graduating from Indiana University with honors and a B.S. in Business, I now realize what that stands for; bullshit in business. Matt Damon said it best, that I could have received my knowledge from late fees at the library. I love college, but the end result did not define where I am today. What it defined was that I love to learn. Over the past few years, I've learned coding, the ins and outs of digital marketing, photography, woodworking, and just about anything I could get my hands on.

I've had the luxury of moving about the planet and it only planted the seed that has sprouted into full wanderlust. Some places changed me, showing me what we take for granted and some just furthered my desire to travel.

Here we are.

My viewfinder is set on the world. I aim to bring you all the beauty and character our world has, along with tidbits of thoughts that can bring us closer to our origins.

Sort:  

Everyone loves it when individuals get together and share thoughts. Great steem profile, keep it up

Happy to see you're a part of steemit now @olyoutdoors! Enjoyed this one. Bullshit in business!! haha yeah college certainly isn't the only way or best way to educate oneself ;)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.9 and reading ease of 76%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Delighted to have you here with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45