Introduction! Odin Gaming

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit!

My name's Ash and I run a blog called Odin Gaming.

Odin Gaming

Odin Gaming is about strategy and simulation gaming and modding. On my site are mods, guides, the odd opinion, and a few Let's Plays. Featured games include Stellaris, Crusader Kings, Kerbal Space Program, and Civilization.

odin-gaming-banner.png
Branding created by Shane Watson. Originally a contractor, eventually a friend, now a project partner, too.

I've always found modding communities to be a little disparate and in need of a constant thread to help bring them together. I've dabbled in modding for years and, as it happens, have ended up becoming a professional software engineer. These two "traits", hand-in-hand, mean that I find myself well-placed to investigate incompatibilities and get mods working nicely together.

I also just seem to have the patience for it!

My cornerstone content is comprised of the odd mod installation guide, carefully-curated mod lists (that are kept up-to-date), and some deep-dives into decade-old modding communities surrounding older games, such as Civ IV and Dawn of War (the original!).

About Me

So how did I end up doing this?

portrait-banner-v2.png
(No card with "Steemit" on it, I'm afraid - I totally hijacked a professional company shoot.)

My gaming hobby was, believe-it-or-not, a gift from my grandma. I'm relatively certain my first exposure to video games was Manic Miner on the ZX Spectrum. I fondly remember my grandma buying Mario Bros 3 for the NES and sitting with me for hours as we played Super Metroid or Ocarina of Time. Yes, Nintendo was my first gaming love.

Trying my best to cast my mind back, I think my first modding experience was with The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. I originally owned this game on the XBox, but had a friend who had joined the PC Master Race a little earlier than me. He showed me console commands and the power of editing game files to do pretty much whatever you wanted. At this point in my life, I was just interested in giving myself super-elf abilities.

And that was that! Once I realised I could make games what I wanted them to be, I was hot on it.

Blogger Newbie

I've been at this for about 10 months now. I'm still making plenty of mistakes, but learning so much. I feel like I've hit a second wind recently - with a site redesign and a new breath of life in my social media strategy - and Steemit, I hope, will be a part of that.

I'm looking forward to meeting some of you and discovering some great content!

Sort:  

What's up, welcome to Steemit.

Welcome to steemit @odingaming. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @odingaming to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

That's useful information! Thank you! (There are a lot of bots around here!)

Hey Ash ;)
With your name you were the best poketrainer if you played that game :P
Are you planning on switching your blog to steemit! You should :)
Do you happen to play Age of Empires II - if so, check out @steemleague!
Btw, I resteemed you via @welcoming where I present promising newcomers to the community!
Greets

You know it! I've got the buffest Clefable you ever saw.

I will be sharing some of my blog content on Steemit, yes :)

I love AoE2! I play it occasionally with my girlfriend and a friend or two! I've followed @steemleague and look forward to reading some news there.

Thanks for the resteem - my very first!

Maybe you even will join the next round of the tournament ;)

Possibly! I'll follow for a bit before I make that decision. Time is limited at the moment!

Welcome! I am a casual gamer myself, kinda old school. Scary place these days with all the lootboxes and ludopathy and stuff they are talking about. :(

Anything you need to know about this platform, i'd be happy to help! Reach me at @flashfiction.

Have a great time here!

Ludopathy is a great word. I definitely had to look that one up! Thanks for my word of the day!

Thanks for your offer to help - I may well take you up on that sometime. It looks like there's a lot to learn here!

Oh, it is. You have NO idea. But it is a fun road. :)

Welcome to Steem @odingaming I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hmm, what's the etiquette here?

"Good bot!"

Good dog

Yes, I think that's it :)

Another fresh Steemian Gamer! Welcome to the club!

Many thanks, Mr. Clifford!

Looking forward to read your blog :) welcome to Steemit!

Thanks very much!

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy the ride as much as you can!

Thank you :) I hope I will!

Hello Ash, welcome. Good post. I had upvote to you.
I'm a gamer of open source game and rhythm game and also modder of Endless Sky game.
Are you ever playing open source game too beside that? :-)

Hi Rizky! Thanks for the upvote.

Endless Sky sounds interesting - I'd like to hear more about it!

I can't say I have played any open source games. I got involved with Thrive briefly, but never powered through!

Oh, Thrive, a open source evolution games. I maybe interested with this games.

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Use 0.05 SBD or more for max vote of .34 at MMG
(more sp coming soon!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39