After the US of A

in #introduction8 years ago

STEEMIT, a developing platform for Cambodia and the world.
Hello Steemers,
I was introduced to STEEMIT by a good friend of mine and hearing about what this platform can do, what it does and what it has done made me want to know more of it. Needless to say that I was very intrigued. So I got on and found some really interesting articles which got me more interested. As I am open minded to new things in life. I thought that it would be a great way to introduce the life and cultural aspects of Cambodia to you and at the same time receive an incentive for expressing my everyday life in Cambodia. What a better way to be motivated.
Here’s an introduction of myself.
My name is Nov as in November. I’m Khmer (Cambodian) once lived in the United States for over 20 plus years but now residing in the land of Wonders Siem Reap, Cambodia close to fifteen years now. Life changing experience was and still is a huge part of this world. Before landing in Phnom Penh, Cambodia I had this vision of a Country rich with landscapes and rich with old school culture. Well it wasn’t the first time I was wrong…….Laughing at myself. What I witnessed firsthand was really astonishing.
Never expected to see a country so deprived of education and opportunity but just as other countries. There are flaws as well as the beneficial factors. I’ve seen a lot growing up in the states and after seeing what daily life is like here. It makes you so very much appreciate what you had growing up. So from there on in I made a pledge to myself to help as much as possible. I remember walking through certain villages witnessing the poverty and the lack of health care / education that was offered. Seeing little kids run around with no shoes / flip-flops or clothes. The toys that was used to have fun and play with made me value life so much more but there was one thing that stood out right away. It was the happiness and the tone of laughter that I so much loved and enjoyed hearing. Although they were limited to such materialistic things yet, what was limitless was the “SMILES” in which everyone provides.
Being a part of STEEMIT helps inform the world and provides me with the privilege of being able to put both my daughters through school and allowing them to receive better health care. Because that is what each and every individual would want for themselves and their loved ones. You can see your benefits in any way you’d like and that is one of the key reasons why STEEMIT is a platform to be on.
STEEMIT it allows everyone to have a chance and provide life changing opportunities. It allows me and others to share creative ideas and obtain great rewards and benefits.
With that being said, I guess I am now a STEEMER.

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for sharing your story. I look forward reading more about your Khmer journey! Where did you grow up in the states? Cheers, Leap

Hello there, @ngtnsm. Thank you for your reply.... and to answer your question. I grew up in Providence, Rhode Island: The Ocean State........ Ill be sharing more of my personal life stories when the time is right.. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58213.71
ETH 2257.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49