How i stopped giving a fuck.

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Let me introduce myself.
I am Nessie.

For the past 6 years, i have worked in the music industry. I could say music business, but industry is more fitting, it does not have much to do anymore with our passion for music. Once, when i was 17, i had set my mind on becoming a music manager, so i did.
I ventured out into the big world, and with a few detours, landed an internship that would both shape and nearly destroy me, and also train me to become one of the soulless 9-5 slaves.
Wait, what happened here? I used to be that girl that wanted to adventure, to travel and to be free. I have always traveled a lot - 21 countries and counting - and mostly on my own, and i found ways to stay semi-free even while working in the music industry. However, i was just kidding myself.
Although traveling more than most of the people around me, it was mostly for business, solely adding a few more days for myself to every trip. Looking back, i never really fit in. I tried hard to for once be like everyone else. Why, do i ask myself today?
Why do people want to be like other people?
I lived on like this for a couple of years, as one does - read: i was slowly getting trapped in the rat race. I lived a life in a souleating bubble, a bubble where it is most important who you hang out with, which party you go to and what sneakers you wear. That can make or break your career, i kid you not.

Then one day, i found myself skyping with an old friend whom i´d met traveling. And suddenly, i remembered. This is not it. This can´t be all. I booked myself a flight to Portugal leaving in 2 days, and upon having to return back to my old life a few days later, i had a full blown panic attack first on the airport and later in the office again.

That´s when i decided to not give a damn about my career, or the industry, or all the superficial people around me anymore. I handed in my notice, went back to Portugal for a month, did one last tour as a tourmanager with my favourite artist and dear friend, sublet my flat and booked a one-way flight to Hawaii.

My not-giving-a-fuck life has started. Welcome to my epic life.

I´ll take the steemit community on my adventures. Beware though, i am very clumsy.

I will share old anecdotes about the music industry, as well as giving you insights in whatever catches my jumpy mind.
A mix of a healthy lifestyle, unnerving adventures, ranty german-ness, thoughts on whatever i deem thoughtworthy or just pictures.

Sort:  

This is a great read and just to prove that you are living what you speak. The first time i saw you was at #steemfest2 doing a yoga demonstration with @acromott
Keep doing what you love Nessie.

Great to have you here @nomadnessie :) I can't wait to go adventuring with you in a month!

Can´t wait either. So many adventures ahead this year!

Love the attitude @nomadnessie. Look forward to your posts.

Thank you @celsius100 - got a few lined up already :)

I look forward to seeing more.

Welcome to Steemit:)

It seems like a lot of people these days are deciding to find ways to live without buying into the stereotypical 9-5 lifestyle, and I'm glad they are. It sounds like you made that decision and decided to push it to the limit, which is awesome.

Welcome to Steemit!

yes, i definitely have and sure ain´t going back (or not without brutal force). thanks for appreciating! what are you doing?

Eating vegetable stew. I live in Guadalajara, Mexico. I teach English, write stuff on Steemit, record a podcast with my friend - you can check it out here @paradise-paradox

So, all I have to do is go to Hawaii and I could climb hills n' shit and not have to work anymore?

haha, well, basically yes! might help if you get involved with cryptocurrencies :)

Sometimes cutting the ties that bind us takes a lot of courage ~ But once we do we wonder why on earth we didn't do it sooner. Love your new attitude ~ And photography ~ And wish you every success on your new journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63560.19
ETH 3041.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49