Hello Steemit Community!

in #introduction7 years ago

Today I decided to try Steemit out for my first time. I've been interested in doing so for a few weeks now ever since one of my buddies sent me some links in Discord explaining what it was and how it worked. My friend group has been going nuts about the big cryptocurrency boom thats been going on lately. I never knew much about Bitcoin, let alone any of the numerous other cryptocurrencies there were until my friends caught me up to speed. But after a few weeks of research and self education on the matter I decided to take some of my spare cash and exchange it for several cryptocurrencies, one of which ended up being steem. That is how I ended up on Steemit. So now I would like to take the time to introduce myself to the Steemit Community, letting you get to know me, what my interests are, and what I will be posting about in the future.

Me

I live in Illinois just across the river from St. Louis, Missouri. I am 24 years old. I spend my days going to classes at a local community college and my nights working as a server at an Italian restaurant. I just recently started going back to school after dropping out the first time from another university. I am still unsure what I would like to major in but I'm sure I will figure it out as I take more classes and get my general education courses out of the way. I've worked as a restaurant server for 6 years now. I started the job I work now in October of 2016. I spent my first five years of serving at another Italian restaurant two blocks away from my current job. The restaurant I work at now is a much better establishment to work in. The owners and management care far more about their customers and employees, and I couldn't be happier to have made the switch.

If you couldn't tell by the picture, I am a huge wrestling fan. I started watching wrestling when I was 5 years old. From 1997-2001 I grew up watching WCW. This wasn't by choice, rather the only wrestling my mother would let me watch. She thought WWF/WWE had too mature of content, and she damn sure was not about to let me watch ECW. Looking back at some of the stuff WCW did, Im not quite sure how she thought it was any different than either of them. I took what I got though. Although I missed Austin/McMahon and The Rock's best years in the WWF/WWE I got to see young Rey Mysterio and Eddie Guerrero before they became huge WWE stars. WCW had all of the legends of the business, Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, Macho Man Randy Savage, and Hulk Hogan brother! WCW also had the G.O.A.T. Chris Jericho. When WWE bought out the WCW I was finally able to watch watch the WWE because my mother still recognized the WCW guys on T.V. and didn't realize it was a different program. I've been watching WWE ever since, often attending Monday Night RAW's or PPV shows when they come to St. Louis.

Throughout my middle school and high school years I would stay up way past midnight just to catch the Mexican wrestling shows on DISH Network. Im not sure which company I watched, pretty sure it was AAA. I never understood what the announcers were saying or what was going on, but I loved the difference from the American wrestling I was used to watching. And occasionally I would see guys I recognized from WCW like La Parka or Psychosis. The bright colored outfits, masks, and culture drew me in and I was hooked. When I moved away from home I no longer had Dish so I couldn't watch it anymore which made me very sad, but l can settle with Lucha Underground being on Netflix now.

I've never seen much of NJPW. The little that I have has been from searching for Young Bucks matches and Bullet Club videos. Although I keep hearing they are thinking about expanding to the American market, which I would love. I just went to WWE's MITB PPV in St. Louis this pass Sunday just to see Shinsuke Nakamura. Strong style is awesome, and if there is more of that in the Japanese wrestling scene than I can't wait to see it.

I didn't even know U.K. wrestling was a thing. Thank God the guys from WCPW came along. I've been watching the WhatCulture Wrestling videos on Youtube for awhile now, and I am a loyal subject of King Ross. When they announced the creation of WCPW I was excited. What they have delivered since has been awesome. They have so many talented guys who have never had the exposure they're getting now. I think it's a great thing for the world of wrestling and if you haven't done it already you should subscribe to WhatCulutre Extra!

When I'm not watching wrestling I'm playing video games. Although I grew up a console gamer, I made the switch to PC shortly after moving away from home. Currently I play a lot of Pixelmon, a Minecraft/Pokemon hybrid. My buddy rented a server, and all our friends set up next to each other so we have a giant poke village now. We have all picked gym types to be the leader of and are breeding and leveling our crews so we can compete and hand out badges to those who defeat us. I am the Psychic Gym leader because I had to have Mr. Mime in my crew. I also play Next Car Game: Wreckfest. I have always loved racing games, and I have always wanted a demolition derby game. This game gives you both. There are numerous tracks you can race on. Tarmac, Dirt, Gravel, Sand. There are figure 8 races and demolition derbys. There are even lawn mower races, and lawnmower derbys. The online community is small but good. There are a lot of people who play who have been around since the game's release. They are very welcoming and helpful to newcomers with questions about car set ups, etc. The game has been early access for some time but just recently started rolling out monthly updates so hopefully they will pick up the pace and we will have a finished product here soon, although it is still extremely fun to play in its current state. Other games I frequently play are H1Z1 KOTK, PUBG, Fallout 4, Civ 6, Total Extreme Wrestling 2016, and Rocket League.

Now that you know a little more about me and my interest, lets talk about the future. In the future I plan on posting wrestling, as well as video game reviews. My reviews will be limited as I watch Raw and Smackdown on Hulu so I don't get to see the whole show and have to watch it a day later, but I do have the WWE Network so all my PPV review's will be on the whole show. As far as video game reviews go, I will review my favorite games to play as well as new games I get and try out. Occasionally I might throw in a video or two of me and my friends gameplay. I look forward to the responses and interactions to come.

Sort:  

Love your passion for wrestling dude. Funny story that you tricked your mom into thinking WWE was WCW because she recognized some of the wrestlers! ;D

My mom was a big Booker T fan, so I'm pretty sure she let me watch it just so she could watch him lol.

Welcome to steemit! Hold on to your hat! It is a wild ride!

Welcome to the wonderful world of steemit! You will definitely have a great experience here.
Feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK to get updates on assorted delicious recipes from all over the world.

Will do. I didn't mention it in my introduction but I am a huge foodie and I love to cook.

hell yeah MrMime!!!

Awesome! Glad to have another foodie in the community. Cheers

Congratulations @mrmime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91