My First Steem/Steemlog/Steemit... What do I call these!?

in #introduction8 years ago

Good Morning All,

I'm not to sure what I want to write here, heck, I'm not even too sure I understand how all this works right now.

What I do know, however, is that it's currently 2:29 AM here in the Virgin Islands and I have been researching and reading and looking up all sorts of information regarding cryptocurrencies for about 6 hours. The entire world of it all is still so incredibly baffling to me. I opened up a trading account not to long ago in hope of catching the next 'Big One.' So far, well, let's say I still have so much more to learn heh.

I have heard and seen of Steemit & Steem Dollars on the exchange I use and finally got around to researching it which is how I stumbled here. From my experience, I believe that I don't have the capital or the knowledge to make a killing on the exchanges, and to be honest, will likely lose what funds I do have on there. However, I'm kind of excited about this Steem find.....

See, I have a lot to say, but not necessarily to a lot of people. I find that finding others who share my opinions, or at the very least appreciate my opinions even if not shared, is quite daunting. I'm tired of 'socializing' about the same topics with essentially the same people over and over again. Sure the person of the day looks different from the person the day before, but neither understand my points or what I am trying to convey, so they are all the same to me.

With that in mind, I end up staying up all night long with a circus of thoughts and ideas and opinions swirling and running rampant in my head. My girlfriend is definitely a big help for me and I love her, but as odd as this may sound, like, sometimes I just wish there were others I can speak to. She knows me so damn well and through my tone and expressions, she already knows where I am going seconds into a conversation.

So I could do a journal, but then what do I do with that? Walk around with it to random strangers and be like, 'Hey, you must check out my entry from 3 days ago, it's a hoot!' Incredibly Awkward.

I can get a domain and blog there or use any of hundreds of sites to blog, but about what? When people land on a dedicated page they are typically looking for consistency and I'm kind of all over the place on things. Also, who are these people? What point is there in writing to everyone in the world? What is the connecting factor that these people and I have in common..... we both know how to use the internet?

This brings me to Steemit. I stumbled upon here and figured, well, a vast majority of people on here likely are aware of cryptocurrencies and how they work. You guys and gals likely share a lot of methods of thinking and mindsets that I do and something inside of me is telling me to give this a shot and just write down things here.... that I will find bonds and similarities much easier here than with some random person I met in real life.

Example, myself being prior military, if I had some issues that i wanted to explore, discuss or just get out in the open, likely a group of military veterans would be a better forum then those who have never served or known anyone who has served. I hope to find the same here, I hope to find that you all reading this are somewhat technical savvy individuals who appreciate change and innovation, who are analytical and believe in the power of information and education. If you weren't, then I couldn't image you would know of or trust a platform such as this.

With that being said, I have my first Steemlog completed (I'm still unsure of what these are called; if they are not called Steemlogs then they definitely should be!). I don't know what my next one will be about. In this very moment my excitement lies in writing more about myself, my ideas and then my opinions on news articles and technology items. We shall see!

I welcome any comments and hope to be welcomed warmly :)

Cheers!
"Chicago" Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52