A Glimpse into the MoTinkerGnome

Good Afternoon.

I am gong to do this introduction thing properly. Along with give you an idea of where I work. @Dante31 here is a brief glimpse into a hour of my work day.

I am the MoTinkerGnome. Nice to meet you. I shaved my beard as I have been needing to wear a respirator more then I had in the past couple years, and I could no longer get a good face to mask seal, Here is my official Steemit date/name picture to verify authenticity. I took a selfie at my desk yes it is always a mess as I am usually stomping out fires either in the plants or on my network. After 20 years in the field I finally have a window. I did have to shave my beard as I have been wearing a SCBA resperator more lately with the fire dept and I could not get a good face to mask seal.
With no beard, I don't think I look almost 40?

Carl ID.jpg

So lets get on our safety shoes and get to it. All employees in the factory need to wear safety shoes, long pants, and eye protection. Hearing protection while not required in all areas, is recommended.

foot.jpg

Lets hop in my truck to go to the vinyl window plant. I need to fix a computer and the public address system. However I did not take any pictures of that part. If you see someone reset a amplifier and install some software on a computer you have seen it all. Nothing is too mundane and no one should think to be above even the smallest tasks.

Pardon the mess workers are replacing storm water pipe. I hope they don't cut my fiber again...
Drive 1.jpg

Driving to the other campus about 3 miles away. The second campus consists of 3 buildings that are about 5 acres or 16577 square meters. We are going to the right most building.

Drive.jpg

Entering the vinyl plant we are presented with the warehouse area that stores all the bulk vinyl for making window frames. The Glass is cut into panes and filled with argon in the building a couple meters/yards away and ferried over by tractors with carts.

Warehouse.jpg

Here is a shot of the production floor. I am not going to get into the process of making a thermal window as I don't know what are trade secrets. These shots do give the enormity of the building and what goes on inside.

vinyl.jpg

Here is the shipping and finished goods storage at the other end of the building. Just this plant can have 14 tractor trailers waiting to be loaded at any time. Each dock is usually full waiting for the days shipment. Each line can finish as many as 300+ windows per day and all of them are custom made to order.

Shipping.jpg

After getting those minor issues fixed it is time to finally get some lunch. There is a small cafe next to the main campus that that makes a good buffalo chicken wraps.

Lunch.jpg

Thanks for spending a hour with me and I hope it was at least interesting.

Sort:  

Looks like you have a lot going on daily...

Amazing...

Buffalo chicken wraps for lunch at the cafeteria much more awesome.

We call it sharwama here.

Pretty expensive and its not something easily made around haha

Oh yes! I love sharwama or in your case chicken Buffalo wrap.

You are one busy guy.

What country are you fam

Dante, If you take a map of the United States and stick your finger in the middle you would most likely be right on top of my town. Freeburg Missouri It is a rural area with a factory that keeps the surrounding counties employed. I live about 3 miles away and pass more cows than people on the way into work.

Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 4k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the discord channel today and learn something in the academy of life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81