My introduction for Steemit

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

My name is Michael Landau. I have cerebral palsy, and use a power wheelchair to get around. I have a PhD in cognitive psychology from the University of Georgia. I had a very difficult time in graduate school, and let's just say things didn't work out the way I planned. My area of specialization is text processing which is just a fancy way of saying reading comprehension. It took me 17 years to get through graduate school, and I spent seven years as an undergraduate at Southern Illinois University.

I like to write poetry, and I'm trying to learn how to grow bonsai trees. I also like to collect autographs through the mail. While I was an undergraduate, I also got a minor in French. I used to be able to speak French okay, but I am sure that I have forgotten quite a bit of it because I don't have much of an opportunity to practice. I can speak French much better than I can write in French. I cannot write in French very well because I have great difficulty physically writing. When I was taking French classes at Southern Illinois University, I hired native speakers of French to tutor me in French. During that period, they spoke to me only in French, and I dictated all of my homework assignments to my French tutor in French.
This is the reason why my speaking ability in French is much better than my writing ability in French. I did not continue on in French because for French majors reading and writing in French is much more important from an academic point of view than being able to speak French. My speaking ability in French is okay, but my reading and writing ability in French is pretty terrible, so after completing all the conversation courses in French, I did not continue on after that because all the classes beyond that relied very heavily on being able to read and write very well, and my reading, and writing in French is very bad.

I promote my favorite actress on the Internet. Her name is Sheetal Seth. She is an American actress of Indian descent. I started a fan club for her on Facebook. I have a post about that on steemit.

You will find my verification video below. I read somewhere that I'm supposed to post it in the chat room. I'm not sure where the chat room is. In any case, I'm extremely bad in chat rooms because the conversation moves too fast for me to follow what's going on.

I use Dragon speech dictation software for all of my writing. It doesn't really seem to work very well in chat rooms, so I really don't like chat rooms very much.
It's very difficult for me to use the keyboard, but with my software, I can just speak, and the words instantly appear on the screen before me. The software is very useful for me, and it really changed my life. Before I had the speech dictation software, I had to dictate all of my documents into a tape recorder, and then I had to wait one or two weeks for the documents to be transcribed. Now, with my speech dictation software in 30 minutes to an hour, I can create a document that would've taken me weeks if I had to do it through the transcription process. So, as you can imagine, speech dictation software has completely changed my life! I think it is absolutely the most wonderful software ever created. I can instantly turn speech into text, and I can write as fast as I can talk, which when you think about it is pretty amazing! Thank you very much for taking the time to read this introduction. See you later.

Sort:  

Great to see you Michaell ! Welcome to Steemit! =)

I think this counts as a verification for Steemit :)

Thank you for joining.

Welcome !

Welcome @michaellandau
Thanks to you for joining the community

Hi Michael! and welcome!

We'd love to see some of your bansai work over in #gardening !!! Check it out!

welcome to Steemit michael :) thank you for sharing

Welcome @michaellandau! Glad to have you here:)

welcome Michael !

I've lived in Belgium for many years but sadly my French is still pretty bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97