Hello I'm Marion Bowes aka Seabrightrunner.....Registered Holistic Nutritionist/Registered Nutritional Consultant Practioner.....Half Marathon Runner, Hiker, Cyclist, Wayseer/Seeker of Truth, Nature Lover and Protector of the Environment.

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

I am so excited to be finally writing my Introduction. I have been on Steemit for a few months now and was introduced and encouraged by @LyndsayBowes and @hendrix22 . I was somewhat reluctant at first but excited at the same time. It seemed confusing, but they were so eager. I have discovered that all old dogs can learn new tricks. I really love this new Steemit community and I could not wait till my holidays were over so I could start posting about all my interests, passions and opinions. Now I see how easy it can be. The best part is that you get to always write your own story.

I live in a rural community, population 500 on the Atlantic Coast. Three years ago we took the big plunge and left Toronto, a city of 6 million to look for a simpler and more holistic way of life. I have always been drawn to the ocean hence why we chose here rather than rural Ontario. I also have a love affair with Port Cities and large ships and Halifax is not that far away. It is small enough to be quaint and large enough to satisfy urges that come when one wants some culture. However much this new journey was wanted it was also a very large paradigm shift. I think we have shifted along quite nicely as you will discover through my blogs.

Halifax is a diverse interesting city, vibrant and full of culture and history. It has a beautiful waterfront catering to pedestrians, a vast selection of dining establishments, and an exciting up and coming music scene. It is still small enough to be friendly and everything is easy to find. It is the yearly host to Tall Ships from around the world and annual Sailing Regetta's that take place in St. Margaret's Bay. It is the home of the famous Bluenose.

.

Our home on the cove is partially off grid. We use a well for water and a pellet stove and a wood stove for heat. We make our own bread and eat farm fresh eggs courtesy of @hendrix22 and @LyndsayBowes. We grow wild blackberries, strawberries and a few trees of russet apples. We have a small garden of herbs and tomatoes and lettuce. We make our own jam from local grown blueberries.
I don't consider myself a diehard homesteader but we do our part to keep a clean carbon footprint. We cook and bake from scratch and try to eat local as much as possible. I am interested in connecting with other Steemians about homesteading and offgrid living. When we want peace and quiet away from city life we enjoy our large deck and our beautiful cove.

I have been a Registered Holistic Nutritionist for 14 years. I also have a designation in Sports Nutrition so I am super interested in whole foods. I managed a large Health Food Store in the city before retiring to the coast so I will be posting about Nutrition, Diseases and Specific Diets. I am always searching for healthy recipes. I will share some of my recipes and delight in trying yours. I will spend some time posting about foods or natural health products. I also have a few certifications for Aromatherapy and will also share some of my knowledge regarding this topic. I will discuss how to use these in everyday life.


I am an avid runner, having lost track of exactly how many runs I have participated in. I know that in the past three years I have run in almost every town in this province. The scenery here is absolutely spectacular. Everything from running along the Seashore, along rivers and in the Annapolis Valley. Through the City of Halifax and Fishing Villages. Down to Yarmouth and up to New Glasgow. I have seen so much beauty, so much culture and so much of real life. Running certainly comes with its perks. Not only is it healthy for the body, it is good for the soul. Life is in order on a long lonely run. The best part is the scenery. Trees, flowers, rivers, lakes, ocean front. Small towns and big cities. Small children waving and elders admiring. Always including plenty of wildlife. You get to see all the things that you miss when you are driving. Running is complete freedom.
Always looking forward to connect with runners, who run just for the joy of it (and of course the odd bling).

When you run, you get to run in all 4 seasons.

You can even run in the rain in black and white

You get to own a whole lot of running shoes.

I even joined a local running group

I love to spend time hiking and biking all over the province, on the trails and in the woods, along the rivers and lakes and ocean fronts. I hope to share my journeys along the way. Sadly it has come to my attention that so many people are destroying our beautiful country with garbage. Garbage is everywhere, cups and tins and paper and tires and even clothing and sometimes even a stove or a toilet. I have become keenly aware more than ever about pollution, global warming issue and just plain garbage. I will be posting about this issue and how I am doing my part to clean up the environment more as the warmer spring weather approaches.

We even joined a local community spring cleanup program.

Never a conventional thinker, I have always leaned towards a spiritual and inspirational side. Hoping to connect with
fellow Steemians who are Wayseers and Indigos. We have much to share.

https://steemitimages.com(

Image: Google Source

Sort:  

Finally your introduction post has arrived. It's excellent! Were so glad to have here on Steemit!

Yes...and thank you, when did the teacher become the student and the student the teacher?

Lol too funny! I just resteemed ya!

Thanks for your vote and encouragement. I have tweaked the Introduction to attract more like minded people.

awesome

What an awesome intro. Looking forward to reading your blogs. Some great photo's there. I envy your running something I have always wanted to do but just not able. So I settle for walking, lol.

Thank you so very much. Finally eh? It was a long time coming. I am super pumped about blogging each day or two. Not sure which subject to start with first. Walking is not settling. Sitting on the couch is settling. Walking is super. Great exercise, fresh air and you can see so much.

It is always hard to choose what to write on. Hahaha I haven't done an intro yet either. It was super getting to know little more about you.

go ahead..now is a good time for an intro. I spent more time thinking about it then actually putting it together. hee :)))

Hello again. I have redone my blog somewhat if you care to read it again. I am hoping to draw more likeminded folks into our circle. Happy Blogging.

you are very welcome! this was a great introduction!! :)) peace!

why thank you..so nice to meet you on this platform, I hope to be able to read some of your poetry

It's nice to meet you here, Lyndsay's mom-in-law! You sound like an interesting lady. I'm following you, and looking forward to your posts!!

likewise and thank you...

So great to meet a fellow runner on here! I'm pretty dedicated about running recreationally but so far haven't really done many official races - but that bling looks so impressive. Do you get a lot of satisfaction from doing races with lots of people? Do you approach it from a competitive standpoint or is it more about the community aspect?

Glad @lyndsaybowes and @hendrix22 encouraged you to join Steemit. They're great coaches and cheerleaders and their support has meant a lot to me.

So awesome to meet you here on this platform. I love meeting fellow runners. I am very dedicated, however not an elite runner. Which means you will not see me in the Olympics. I love, love, love, that long lonely run. That is where the real running takes place. Where you do not even know you are running. I am really only competitive within myself. Which is the real awesome part of running. I enjoy the comradeship of fellow runners and being Nova Scotia with lots of small town there are not that many people and you meet the same over and over. I get a huge charge of the really large city races with all the hoopla mostly for the fun they provide and the challenge. Which is what the races give me. My own challenge. Each one is different and unique. The bling I find fun and an added bonus to my hard work. I have added more pictures and story to my intro blog should you care to read it. It will add more light to what I just said. Happy running ...we will share more soon.

I can definitely see how doing a big community run would be refreshing after living in a quiet part of the world.

I get a little competitive with myself as well. In the past it's led to a few minor injuries. Right now I'm just trying to up my distance a little at a time so that I can do a half-marathon without worry.

going slow is the key to keep injury free. I have had my share of those and I also have a great Massage Therapist. Often times I will do small communities runs locally to support a charity or a cause. Usually 5K or 10K. The provide good community spirit, food, comradeship from like minded runners and help the organization.

I wouldn't mind the occasional massage! I once had a friend who did them professionally and gave me great rates. Alas, she moved away.

I think I'll try to do some community runs this year. My average distance is 8 miles now so a 10K sounds pretty good.

I just gave you a shout-out in this walkwithme post - we all hope to hear more about your running adventures!

awesome and keep running, as the season goes on the runs start coming. It can be tricky here in the winter on the water with the ice we get. I am scheduled to be the Hyporthermic on Sunday, weather permitting of course. thank you for the shout-out

Great intro @marionbowes! I look forward to reading more about life there in Halifax and seeing beautiful photos of the waterfront. The ocean debris, on the other hand, would be perfect not existing at all. Such a shame but very heartening to see you are involved with cleanup efforts and preserving our world. We need more good people. Not just on Steemit. We need more good people, period. Best with your Steemit journey!

Thank you so much and happy to meet you here on this platform. I have rewritten some of my blog to find more like minded folks such as yourself and to bring more people into our circle. Looking forward to more blogging and sharing.

Woohoooo!!! What a great introduction!!
So grateful to have connected! Can hardly wait to read your blogs! Sounds like some yummy recipes might be coming too!!!
Huge love! And welcome!!

Hello and thank you. Finally eh. I have added more writing and pictures to my blog intro if you care to read .it. Trying to bring more like minded folks into our circle. See you soon on this platform.

Wonderful!!! Will check it out!!

so excited to finally connect

Soo happy to see you on Steemit, @marionbowes! Nova Scotia is a better place with you and your son's family in it!

Biking has become a passion for me over the last few years (out biking yesterday as a matter of fact ) and am within striking range of Seabright from my north end Halifax home. It would be great to meet you folks face to face this, coming, summer.

Will be looking forward to your posts in the meantime! ✌💛

Wow..how very awesome. I knew this was an awesome platform. We are in the north end often. I have added more pictures and story to my intro blog if you care to read. Trying to look for more like minded folks such as yourself. So nice to meet you and we will share so much more.

Welcome welcome! Love the intro! We share so many of the same passions, happy to be able to get to know you more and learn from your future posts on here! Did you do the holistic nutritionist course locally? I thought about doing the one over in dartmouth but babies, money, you know...Just teaching myself with my growing library of books! Anywho, yay that you are here, looking forward to many more posts! :) :)

hello again. nice to meet you again on this platform. I have rewritten some of my introduction to meet more like minded folks and to bring more into our circle. I did my schooling in Toronto. If you read my intro post again it will explain more. Keep blogging you will get your schooling. I have many books and am willing to lend.

Welcome to steemit from me and the family @minismallholding. From the stewards of Gondor and Stewards of TerraMater it's wonderful to see another caring for our environment.

Awesome to meet you on this platform. I have retweaked my introduction to encourage more like mined people into our circle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77