Sort:  

Another option you have: let users select the amount of promotion cost they want 2x-3x-4x-5x etc.... then sort by whoever pays the highest multiple.

my first plan was this,
I think 5x is really high, but anyway, I will add this option too.

the problem there is you can contribute $0.01 then promote at 5x then re-contribute after every vote. i would create a threahold of $1, $2, $3... pending upvote at each level to counter this

I can't understand what is your mean.

because it is possible that someone will vote more than the pending reward. users could enable promotion with a very small amount of pending reward. after they get an upvote they that brings them to zero they make a 1% upvote and then do promotion again. now they will be perpetually at the top for free.

Now I understand. I will add a filter on pending upvotes. Thanks a lot.

I think crediting 85%-90% of the up-vote value to pending upvote is the best solution.

I think you have two types of users:

  • dolphins and whales: who want to spend more of thier own SP promoting their own post.

  • minnows: who want extra rewards

The minows get what they want since upvotes will overshoot their small reward contribution,

Dolphins and whales get what they want because they can direct more of their own SP to a post they want to promote.

As you can see on the homepage. Today I decreased extra rewards. I need to think more about this problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28