Hi Steemit! I'm Liz, 20 y.o. writer, libertarian, climber, currently based in Chile

in #introduction8 years ago

Hi from Chile, Steem community!

My name is Liz. I'm 20 years old, a libertarian writer, occasional student, rock climber (for the past 12 years!), deadlifting maniac, and Latin American street food enthusiast. I'm currently based out of Chile but my boyfriend and I are moving to Mexico City in 4 weeks as a sort of experiment before taking off on a permanent vagabonding adventure in January 2017 (tentative itinerary: Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam then settling down in Buenos Aires/Medellin for a while).

Alt Image Text

I went to school at William and Mary and technically have one semester left there--I've managed to condense my college degree into 2.5 years in order to graduate debt-free. I've been working for the libertarian magazine/think tank Reason for the past 10 months (as an intern and then a fellow) and am currently transitioning over to interning for Praxis, a start-up that's aimed at providing apprenticeships for students as an alternative to the societal default of generating thousands of dollars of debt and an unsightly beer belly from Natty Lite.

Also, sometimes I have pink hair.

Alt Image Text

Over the next 5 years, I hope to become completely fluent in Spanish, get 50k + hits on a piece of writing (ideally something of higher quality than a Buzzfeed listicle), not get arrested for anything, become a consistent 5.13 rock climber, trip acid with Tim Ferriss (that's a stretch, though I would also be down for shrooms so I have some flexibility there), and live in South America/Asia with my boyfriend for 3+ month stretches.

I hope to contribute a lot to the Steem community--I'm doing tons of traveling for the next two months (Chile, DC, NYC, Las Vegas for FreedomFest, Austin (TX), and then finally Mexico) so I hope to be able to share some of these experiences via Steem and continuously mine new travel ideas/tips. I'm super interested in protests and government distrust (below is an image I took from violent protests last month in Valparaiso, Chile), drug policy, traveling, sex policy, anything libertarian, the sharing economy, journalism, and how to live with the least government intrusion possible. Also eternally wanting to learn more about meditation (esp. mindfulness), therapeutic uses for psychedelics, and any ways to treat depression and other mental health issues (which I've been struggling with for years).

It seems like the Steemit community has tons of wisdom to share, so I'm excited to get started.

Alt Image Text

Now off to climb more.

Alt Image Text

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Welcome! It's nice to see new comers :-)

Hi Liz,

I reckon you've got a good shot at shrooming or tripping acid with Tim Ferris, you're on the right continent at least and he does seem like he'd be up for that. Especially if you managed to get hold of him in a novel way :-)

CG

Hopefully! Any ideas? I know one person who might be interviewed by him so I'm looking to see if that turns into anything. And he answered my question on his podcast but that's pretty much the closest I've gotten. He's a cool dude for sure.

Go Liz go!!! Nice seeing a familiar face around here ;-)

Hahaha, you know the world is changing when your goals list include : "Not getting arrested for anything" :)

Welcome to Steemit, you will love it here!

Hope you enjoyed Chile! I've been down here for two years and definitely dig it.

Huge Tim Ferriss fan here. If you do ever get to trip acid with Tim, I'd love to join!

Wow, I am so jealous of everything you are doing! You're killing it. I gave up on my dreams of climbing a 5.13 long ago and now I regret it. I recently read a book by the creator of Dilbert and he's a big fan of affirmations. Given all you've already accomplished I have no doubt that if told yourself, "I am going to trip acid with Tim Ferriss," you and the universe will conspire to make it happen! Welcome!

Get back into it! The best I've ever done is one 5.12, only once, so I certainly have a lot of work to do. If you ever want to share climbing training tips definitely let me know :) hoping for even more climbers to join Steemit!

Great to have you with us!

Thank you!! Steemit is incredible, such a cool concept.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50