Hi Steemit, I'm Linda and this is my intro post.

in #introduction8 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is Linda Bolen. I'm 37 years old and I live in Cool Ridge, WV. For the past 6 years I have ran a home-based bakery, Cake Creations by Linda LLC. 

Birthdays, Weddings, Baby Showers, I make them all! My training was informal, mainly YouTube videos and random tutorials. I just decided one day that I wanted to start making cakes, practiced for a few weeks, and started taking orders. Looking back on some of those first cakes, I probably should have practiced just a little bit more. Check it out:

 

But as the old saying goes, practice makes perfect. While not yet perfect, I have learned so much during these last 6 years, all through a mixture of trail and error, countless nights of missed sleep, and some tears and heartache (there's nothing like messing up a couple's wedding cake and potentially ruining their big day).

A little about my personal life: I am married to an amazing man, Ken, and we have 5 kids. We are a close family and spend a lot of quality time together. I homeschool the youngest 3 and that has been an experience in itself, but an amazing one. While I currently own the cake business, I have other passions and interests that I am pursuing as well. I am in the planning stages of building my dream business, which I will divulge more info on in future stories, as it unfolds. 

I'm planning to post stories about some of my own experiences; cake decorating, homeschooling, family life, etc. Hopefully I'll be able to make some tutorials on techniques that I use, it will be a first for me. And of course, my story collection would not be complete without some tales of my cake disasters (complete with the horrendous photos).

See you soon!


Sort:  

Nice cakes, wish i could buy them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50