Well, Hello There!

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello there! My name is Shana. This is my first post on here, but I am excited about this opportunity.

Well, I suppose I should introduce myself a bit more. I am working on my undergraduate degree in Psychology before I go on for my doctorate in Psychology (Psy.D.), and I am loving it. Okay, I am loving it the majority of the time. The rest of the time, I am ripping my hair out, chugging coffee, and trying to find the perfect words to express the jumbled thoughts in my head. But, isn't that every student's problem? Hmm.. if not, then it must just be me.   

My residence is now here in Gerogia with my amazing fiancé and his daughter. I never thought I would find a family like the one I have landed into, but life sometimes has a way of surprising us. I grew up in the lesser-known state of Montana, but I have lived many places. I moved from Louisiana a year and a half ago, so trust me when I say that it was very different than anywhere I have ever lived. They have their own unique culture, food, language, and history. I often say that it could be its own little country.   

I am also a newer amputee. My surgery was back in February, and it has been an interesting process. There have been many ups, more than a lot of downs, but all in all it has a learning experience. I will talk more about that later on, as not to bore you. However, when you are taken so far out of your comfort zone that you can't even see it anymore, and you are forced to find a new path, it definitely teaches you the importance of adaptation. Adaptation has been a key to survival throughout the years, so why should it be any different in this day and age. I will say, though, that I have learned a lot about myself in the process as well.   

Favorite things... hmm... Family, first and foremost. I love to read and write. I am in love with music. Unfortunately, I was not gifted with musical talent, but that does not stop me from admiring the work of others from a vast selection of genres. I have also recently gotten into Elder Scrolls Online, which is very different for me, as I am not much of a gamer, but I have fallen in love with it. Plus, where else can you reign down destruction for gold and experience?   I believe that I shall end it here, but I have a question for you. What is something in life that is unique about you? What has helped shape your image, your personality, or even your hope in life? I am a firm believer that our quirks help shape who we are, and there are only two ways to deal with them. Either you can be ashamed of them and try to hide them, or you can embrace what makes you epic and unique.  

I look forward to getting to know you all! Thanks for stopping by!

-Shana

Sort:  

Welcome Shana. Good to have you here.

Thank you @bigpanda for stopping by! I am glad to be here.

Hello @joeyarnoldvn! I hope you are doing well.

Welcome great post . I did a degree part time and expereinced the exact thing you described.

" I am loving it the majority of the time. The rest of the time, I am ripping my hair out, chugging coffee, and trying to find the perfect words to express the jumbled thoughts in my head."

So dont worry you have not lost it , yet hehe

Thank you @stickchumpion. It's good to see others who understand the flurry and frenzy of trying to balance things. I am glad to know that I have not lost it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55