Meet A Millenial: The Guy Curious About Pokemon IRL

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

 As a person who enjoys finding possible connections within my contacts,  I've started this series as a way of making introductions happen faster (the more minds brainstorming....the more effective the result...right?).


Each person featured in the series would be answering 36 questions. And yes, a number of them are from the famed '36 questions'  that allow two people to have a deeper connection (by getting to know  one another via a set of questions) in a short amount of time. 
 






 Q#1:  Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

If anyone in the world at this chosen time, I guess I would choose Jackie Chan. I am not much of a follower when it comes to celebrities but Jackie Chan has always come off as a genuine and sincere person. I’d like to get to know him personally and befriend him.


If not Jackie Chan then most likely have a sit down with a few of my favorite not well known maybe even underground music artists.

 


 Q#2:  Would you like to be famous? In what way?

I always thought about what it would be like if I were famous. In another life where I wouldn’t be such a socially anxious person, I think I would like to be famous. If I were famous I’d be able to reach out and speak to those similar to me in giving advice or how I lived my life and relate to those who can’t figure out theirs. But thinking deeply about being famous, I think it can be a little egoistic to be famous, loving yourself and having to portray that self pleasing image all the time, I think I’d rather be happy with myself rather than being famous, always having to please the world. But that’s only my perception of what it would be like to be famous.


Another reason why I would like to be famous is so I can interact with all the interesting famous people in the world too. Random but I know we’ve all thought about it at one point.

 

Q#3:  Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?

As someone who’s socially anxious, sometimes. Gotta make sure I say it right the first time they hear it. Mostly on professional phone calls. Like with a new job or something.


But if it’s a usual conversation where I know what to say, I wouldn’t.

 


Q#4:  What would constitute a “perfect” day for you?

Hmmm… A day where nothing ruins it. Where no intrusively negative thoughts find their way through my head. Where I hang out with the right people and get the things I wanted done.


We can throw in some memorable events too and that would be a near to perfect day.

 


Q#5: When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

I don’t usually sing cuz I suck at it. And I’m horrible when it comes to lyrics. I have bad memory so it’s hard for me to memorize lyrics. But I would hum noises of a song that’s in my head.

 



Q#6: If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the mind or body of a 30-year-old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want?

So I don’t know what it’s like to have a mind of a 90 year old yet… Iono if I’d rather have a mind of a 30 year old or a body of a 30 year old. And it also depends on what kind of mind we’re talking about. Do we mean a HEALTHY mind of a 30 year old or a maturity mind of a 30 year old. 


I’m probably over analyzing it… I would rather have a mind as healthy as a 30 year old. I think. I don’t like this question.

 

Q#7: Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die?

No lol.

 


Q#8: Name three things you'd like to have in common when you next meet someone.

Same taste in music. Same sense of humor. And same sense of right and wrong.




Q#9: For what in your life do you feel most grateful?

Though I have to process it a little every time I think about it, I’m grateful that I’m not homeless. That my mind is not ill. That I don’t struggle financially. Pretty much grateful for all the things that are not potentially worst.


Though I know life could be better.

 



Q#10: If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be?

I would take out a lot of the negative conditioning in my earlier life.

 


Q#11: If you were to tell your life story as quickly as possible, how would it go? (4 minute limit)

I suck at telling stories. My memory sucks. Add that to the pressure of having to get a good reaction from people and you’ll might have a stuttering mess.

 



Q#12: If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

The ability to express myself fully with the power of my will.

 


 

Q#13: If a crystal ball could tell you the truth about yourself, your life, the future or anything else, what would you want to know?

I’d like to know plain advice on how I can make my life better. I wouldn’t want to know about my future. That’s too much for the human mind.

 

Q#14: Is there something that you’ve dreamed of doing for a long time? Why haven’t you done it?

Making music. The feat has always been too much for me. Too overwhelming to start. I end up procrastinating or finding a reason to do something else. Even discouraged that I don’t have what it takes. Or worse, I wouldn’t enjoy doing it.


But I’m starting now. I have a passion for music and sounds and I’ll let that be the motivating factor by in itself.

 

Q#16: What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?

Lol um… I don’t know tbh. Some others may say differently in how I affected their lives and may consider them as accomplishments but to me I don’t really feel like I have a greatest accomplishment.

 


Q#17: What do you value most in a friendship?

This is complex. The ability to interact and make jokes and laugh and be interested in the most common things. The ability to do things and experience life together. Create and share memories. To do something as little as killing time together. Or not having to be lonely. To have someone to trust and rely on (though they might not always be reliable).

 

Q#18: What is your most treasured memory?

My most treasured memories are always those that give me a strong feeling of nostalgia. So a smell or a song or a place.. I don’t have a MOST treasured memory but those that I treasure always makes me feel good.

 



Q#19: What is your most terrible memory?

Same with this; I don’t have a most terrible memory but I do wish I could erase all the bad ones.

 


Q#20: If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are now living? Why?

Ya. Adventures every day. Just live life like it’s supposed to be lived. Literally YOLO it loll.

 



Q#21: What does friendship mean to you?

Someone you can trust and be yourself around with.




 

Q#22: What roles do love and affection play in your life?

This is a tough question for me for some reason. I would say I am surrounded by a lot of love from my family but at times I have a hard time showing it back to them. I can be a very not affectionate person to family but to someone I’m in a relationship with, iono. I’ve never been in one before…

 



Q#23: Why Do you do the things that you do? 

I don’t know lol. That’s a very big question. And vague too. If the question is another way of asking ‘What’s my purpose’, then I’d also answer the same with I don’t know.

 


Q#24: How close and warm is your family? Do you feel your childhood was happier than most other people’s?

I think my family is close for the most part. Closer than most other people’s family maybe even? My childhood... I think I had a generally “happy” childhood but it definitely could have been happier.

 



Q#25: How do you feel about your relationship with your mother?

I have a good relationship with my mom. She can have her own reasoning about certain things at times but I usually just go with the flow with her. Sometimes I’d have to baby her and just let her have it her way. I love her to death though.

 



Q#26: What is the one improvement you know you can do now that you have been putting off? (Why do you think that is?)

Being less hard on myself? Beating up myself less?

 


Q#27: Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share …”

My comfortable self with.

 


Q#28: What's the most important thing your close friends know about you?

That I can be odd at times. Either my behavior, the decisions I make or the taste I have for things. It’s important I guess because that’s them accepting me for who I am and I don’t have to worry about being judged.

 

Q#29: What are the three things that frustrate you about other people? 

People who are inconsiderate of others, only thinking of themselves, people who don’t know how to apply the golden rule (treating others how they themselves would like to be treated), people who just aren’t friendly in general.

 

Q#30: What's an embarrassing moment in your life that you were able to get over? (Is there something that you still have yet to get over?)

When I was young, I was embarrassed that I got caught flexing to myself in the mirror by my little sister. I do it all the time now haha.

 

 

Q#31: When did you last cry in front of another person? By yourself?

The last time I remember crying was when my grandma passed away. Other than that I think it takes a lot for me emotionally to cry.

 

 

Q#32: Do you consider yourself a likable person? (Why? Why Not?)

I consider myself as a weird person but definitely likable. I can see why people wouldn’t like me, but if I met another me, I would like me.

 

Q#33: What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

I think there are a lot of things that shouldn’t be joked about. Like terrorist bombings that happen across the world. Things that we wouldn’t be able to imagine ourselves experiencing. Jokes at the absolute misery of others. I probably fall out of line with this at times too though.

 

Q#34: If you were to die this evening with no opportunity to communicate with anyone, what would you most regret not having told someone? Why haven’t you told them yet?

I’m sorry I have to go so soon, I love you all.

 


Q#35: Your house, containing everything you own, catches fire. After saving your loved ones and pets, you have time to safely make a final dash to save any one item. What would it be? Why?

Geez this would be one worst case scenario. I look at all my stuff as I read this question. Most likely my hard drive. Where I store all my collected music. I need to do a back up soon now.

 


Q#36: Of all the people in your family, whose death would you find most disturbing? Why?

I don’t even want to talk about this.

 


Q#37 (BONUS):What’s the one outfit you wish you were allowed to wear every day without shame?

I get tired of what I wear quick so I’m going to say that I wouldn’t want to have to wear something every day. What I wouldn’t want to wear every day though is work clothes. Collar shirts and slacks… disgusting to me(not the look but the idea).. unless it’s for an occasion then that’d be different.



Joe* is 25 and lives in Los Angeles. Though he is not looking for any particular Jackie Chan memorabilia, As a young kid he would fantasize what it would be like to be a Super Saiyan and what life would be like if Pokemon were real.




Note1 : I've changed Joe's* name for privacy. If there is a part of this post that you would like to pick his brain about, let me know and I will arrange an introduction (To date he is open to people reaching out).  


Note 2: One additional question because I didn't realise I sent 37 questions instead of 36!


 


Photo by R.P. Brown


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 


 
Sound like something you might want to do? You just let me know your best email address  and I’ll send you the question template to fill in. Your mini-bio would be your  anonymised name (You can pick…or let me pick for you. That is if you  would appreciate an introduction, but just prefer I do it privately.  However, if you are open to link to your site, Twitter/Instagram  feed...then I will keep your name and link to those feeds!), age, city  and some quick facts about you (2-3 sentences) that you have not yet revealed while answering the questions. 

 


 
As a big supporter of privacy, you can also give an approximation of your age or the generation you belong to (example: 'Young Millenial'). 
 


 
If you've already completed the exercise, you are more than welcome to link to your post (whether or not it is  on Steemit) as a comment (just hit the reply button in-line with the  social sharing links)! 



Also...If you think I should switch any of the questions  with something else...go for it. Feedback is welcome here.    


For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark (@steevc), that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.   



Search Terms: Millenials / Connection /  The Experimental Generation of Interpersonal Closeness: A Procedure and Some Preliminary Findings /  interpersonal closeness / Arthur Aron / Anxiety / Karate / Kung-Fu / Fame / Work / Loneliness / Dragon Ball Z / Anime / Data Storage / Digital Back-up 

Sort:  

LeighLim Leigh Lim tweeted @ 07 Sep 2017 - 13:16 UTC

Z, Millennials, X, then Boomers.

#NoteToSelf

theatlantic.com/national/archi…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85