Hello All!

in #introduction8 years ago

I'm brand new to steemit and just wanted to check it out. I love the concept of block chains and decided to jump into it, to experience first hand. I don't post a lot on facebook but I might step out of my shell more and more on here.

More about me...
Currently I am a PhD candidate in Biostatistics. I am set to graduate in May and can't wait for the next steps in my life. With my degree I hope to tackle large scale datasets in Statistical Genetics/Genomics and other related areas such as the Microbiome. If you guys want to talk about any of that stuff, let me know. It is not just a professional pursuit but also a hobby of sorts that I constantly read and learn about. I am more interested in gaining understanding to prevent disease and promote health. Health and nutrition are important to me and would love to engage more with that as well.

While studying statistics I have come across a lot about Machine Learning. I find that field fascinating as well. I feel like the applications are endless. Another area that I read more and more about is Quantum Mechanics. I am a complete novice when it comes to it but am trying to learn as much as I can about it.

Besides being a huge Math nerd with all the above, I also enjoy fitness and being active. I have coached wrestling for the last 8 years for a local high school and enjoy trying to keep up with them. Coaching allows me to give a lot back and help the wrestlers out both on and off the mats as much as I can. In order to keep up with the kids a do a lot of resistant training and running. I have run several half-marathons and try to weight train at least 3 times a week. I haven't worked my way up to a full one and not sure I will take the plunge or not. If you would like to know anything more about me just ask!

Sort:  

Start following at least 99 people, especially in the category tags you like, that interest you. Then simply post whatever you like, maximum of FOUR blog articles posted per 24 hours, but unlimited comments and unlimited replies.

Then simply vote within your feed, Steemit has a lot of authors; not a huge amount but certainly far to many for a mere human to follow on a regular basis. Thus you limit some of your voting to the people you follow ( your FEED ) and these people get to see your actions over time.

Thus you build up a network of followers yourself and generally start to connect with people you come to like more or not. You can do as little or as much as you wish . . .

STEEMSTATS.com, STEEMD.com and steemwhales.com are simply your basic additional resources. Steemtools.com will show you many other places that you might find useful or might find a complete waste of your time : )

See you on the BlockChain ; )

Oh, Yeah ; and Welcome ! ! !

Thanks for the advice!

Hey kirk-gosik,

Nice to see you on here. Seems we've joined about the same time. Good luck to us on our brand new adventures! :)

Good luck to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70