A decent respect for the opinions of steemkind…

Greetings!
What an interesting new project! I have been looking for something like this for a while and am delighted to see a community focused on content creation, openness of dialogue, and fair treatment of the content creators spring into being.
A little about me- I am a philosopher piecing together a full-time job by teaching at some small universities in the Midwest of the USA. I am working on my dissertation, and plan on using Steemit as an outlet for some of my ideas, and just simply to take a break from my work to think about other interesting things. Most of my philosophical work is in the intersection between ethics (I work on the Ethics review board of local hospital system), Ancient philosophy, logic, and the work of Soren Kierkegaard. SK is my favorite philosopher.
My hope is to help offer the community posts that provoke and encourage debate about some of the most important questions humans can ask, including:
What can we know?
What should we do?
What counts as good reasoning for each area?
What counts as evidence?
What does it mean to be human?
What does it mean to be me?
Is there meaning to human life?
Is there meaning to my life? How can it be achieved?
Obviously many people are not interested in these sorts of questions. They get exasperated for different reasons; some think these questions are easily answered, others think these questions are pointless, and still others just want to think about other things. That is fine. It is a big world. But to those who think these sorts of questions are exactly what they have been thinking about all along, I hope to join with you in reasoning these things out together. If I do this all on my own it is too easy to get lost in my own head, and to have assumptions I fail to consider deeply enough. I look forward to finding out my blind spots and helping you do the same.
Socrates said the unexamined life is not worth living. Soren Kierkegaard wrote stories and sermons and philosophical discourses trying to provoke the citizens of Denmark to consider their lives. I take their examples as guides for my own philosophical work and I hope to encourage you to follow their example too.
All the best-
A kierkegaardian

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Congratulations @kierkegaardian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37