Dithering and a Decision

in #introduction7 years ago

It's been several days since I started writing this blog and I still haven't posted the first entry. I have been going around and around trying to decide what the focus will be: my attempts to convert my one acre plot of land into a working homestead, my amateurish attempts to paint the beauty around me, my love of old-fashioned crafts/skills like crocheting, knitting, embroidery, and quilting, my political views that often send me on a rant? How about my need to write and the 15 or so unfinished manuscripts neatly packed away in a box "until I have time to finish them." Perhaps you would like to see the 25,000 photos I have taken mostly of animals and landscapes? Quilling, hypertufa...google it. And let's not forget the pond I am building in the backyard.

I wanted to reach and capture one audience, corner the market on a particular subject. But my mind doesn't work that way. I start each day with one goal, just one thing I want to accomplish, one simple thing to mark as done on my 6 page to-do list. By the end of the day I will usually have worked on anywhere from five to twenty-five unrelated things. It starts off with wanting to accomplish, say, making a new bio filter for my pond. That requires me to go on-line to research the best media to use, then over to amazon to order the parts, while I'm there I might as well check the pantry to see what else I need to order, which reminds me to check on feed supplies for the goats and chickens. But when I get to the door there's four dogs that need to be leashed and taken out. which also involves checking their food and water and while I am at it I may as well clean and fill the chicken waterers and Larry's pool needs to be scrubbed and filled so she will quit swimming in the chicken water and.... ooh! squirrel.

It may be a day or it may be a week before I get back to ordering the parts for the pond. So how can I commit to writing daily on just one subject? I guess the only thing I can do is just write about my life with all its twists and turns and distractions. Those with an interest in homesteading and surviving and prepping can read those posts, and those attuned to the arts, photography, painting and crafting can read when I post about those and, as the King would say, "Et cetera, et cetera, etcetera."

Sort:  

There are very few hard and fast rules concerning how one should use Steemit. :c)

Some post multiple times daily.

Some post once every several days.

Others post daily.

Others don't post but comment a lot.

Others don't even comment and just "curate".

One thing that is recommended is that every post include a picture (because the picture will show in the list and will draw more attention.

That being said there is no hard rule about it needing to be a different one every time. Maybe you could create a really compelling composite image that kinda 'represents' you - and use it every single time you post something that you lack a unique image for. :cP

Incidentally it sounds to me like you lead a very very interesting life. And another thing about Steemit is that you don't have to have a single topic.

Of course, over time you will develop your personal brand and you will attract fillowers who want their dose of @ketflan whenever she can. :c)

Steemit is a garden. You recently planted a couple of seeds - and as you water them you'll find more seeds to become available. This is how Steemit works. ^_^

Thank you for your comments, I will definitely be adding pictures to my blog and will try to find something to represent me since I don't do photos of myself.

Congratulations @ketflan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97