Introductions

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

What does a mother do all day once her children are all in school? She looks for a paying job. And what does she do while she is waiting for someone in the big employed world to recognise her worth? She thinks. She thinks a lot.

[squiglysplayhouse.com]

She thinks about her value. Is it really becoming based upon a monetary sum? Now that she is not helping children to learn to walk, use a toilet correctly, read or eat, has her value dropped? Now that her children have learned to walk across a busy road safely, or to actually do some study or homework in the afternoons, and now that she is not needed anymore to make them lunch after school has her value as a person become linked to what she can provide financially only?
cartoon-tired-mother-tending-to-her-baby-by-toonaday-9173.jpg

And why does this was-once-considered-a super-woman have these thoughts clouding her now not-so-busy days? Because the world has, in general, forgotten how important the 'simple' things in life are. And by 'simple', I mean the essential things. Things like teaching your children to value honesty (not needing to lie to cover a weakness, but to learn to improve on it), teaching them to take care of themselves ("Have you picked up your dirty clothes and put them in the washbasket yet? I am not washing clothes that are lying on the floor!"), and basic hard work, even when you find it very unpleasant ("It's your turn to mow the lawn, please make sure it's done before dinner time."). Yes. It appears the world has forgotten how essential a mother is in the home (stay at home mom and working mom). And because they have forgotten, this essential part of the home, and ultimately society, has taken on that sentiment. She has bought into the myth that her value lies only in the amount of cash she can provide for the family.

myths-360x240.jpg
[Calorie Control Counsel]

Well, actually that is not entirely true. She has to look like a Super Model doing it.

Body image.jpg
[facebook.com/notadiet]

Having said that, I must add that I am not here to "Burn The Bra!". I am just here to let myself know that being who you have become over the past 17 years is more than enough! You have conquered personal demons no one will ever know or understand. You have mastered skills you didn't even dream of needing. You took on a role you had no experience in and your have come off victor. You have learned to love unconditionally while simultaneously wishing to commit murder.....but you didn't, so that's another plus. You have learned to nurture and support four (husband included) individuals, so different from yourself, and you have learned to understand them in a way they nor yourself may even realise. You and your husband have helped 'create' 3 wonderful little bodies that house 3 near perfect human beings (that's a mother's opinion, yes) and they are now almost ready to go out and start lives of their own, and they even still love you! No amount of money could ever pay for or buy that. And that's just off the top of my head. (Be grateful I don't have more time to add more :D ).

You are enough.jpg
[Pinterest South Pacific Inspirational Quotes]

So while the paying-employment-world slowly starts to wake up to my potential, I will remind myself to keep on being You. Enjoy the You you have become. Keep thinking as you try to fill those empty days, but keep thinking about reality, and forget about the mythical world that is supposed to exist out there. Enjoy the reality of you (although don't forget the treadmill in the process!). I know your family does.

Sort:  

Nice intro post! Welcome! It is so nice to have you with us here. Please let me know if you have any questions by posting them here, and I will help if I can. Good luck!

Thank you. I really appreciate your welcome. I am a little concerned that I am not doing the photo credit thing correctly. I am excited to be here!

I just always use pixabay.com, then I don't have to worry.

Fantastic. Thank you.

You're very welcome!

Fantastic introduce yourself.....awesome to have you here. Look forward to reading your next 1000

Thank you kind sir! :) I look forward to the surprise of what the 1000 could possibly be :D

Just FYI there is a group, or tag, called introduceyourself that all people already use to introduce themselves as newcomers. I would take a look at the established tags that are already created and followed, and use them. On your home page, the tags are on the left of the page

Oh, ok. Thank you! Can I create a new tag even after I have posted my post? (That sounds silly, hehehe... posted my post).

You can edit your post after the fact. I've done it a few times actually

Welcome, kathys-girl! Best wishes for a very enriching experience here on this platform :) Life is Good

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you for the welcome, and for the advice! I really appreciate it. I have clicked the links, now to see how to use them :D

That was a very well done introductory post @kathys-girl. I think you will find the hive and jan23com to be a pretty nice place, I am also a member of The Hive, and it is how I found your post. Welcome to steemit.

Thank you. I am looking forward to the experience :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46