Introducing me -- Hello from Vancouver Island

in #introduction7 years ago

Hello. My name is Judy. At the time of joining Steemit, I am 65 years old, and I live on Vancouver Island on the west coast of Canada.

I grew up in Swaziland, Africa. However, I have spent most of the last 40 years in Canada – albeit with stints in the USA, Australia and New Zealand as well.

I love reading and writing. My favorite outdoor activity is hiking. I also am interested in meditation and veganism. I enjoy traveling and experiencing different cultures.

Though I am interested in history, I'm curious about the future too. For example, at the time of this writing, awareness of cryptocurrencies is growing in the mainstream population. I am watching with interest to see how the relationship between conventional, fiat currencies and cryptocurrencies unfolds.

I have been married twice. I have two sons from my first marriage. They're in their thirties. Though they were born and raised in Canada, they both went into tech, and currently are in Silicon Valley.

My first marriage lasted for 35 years. I feel as if my first husband and I have made peace with each other. Our communications with each other are cordial, for example, in exchanging news about our sons.

My second husband and I were together for six and a half years. We've been separated for a little over a year. The circumstances leading up to that separation were more difficult than those leading up to my earlier separation. I have not "cleared the air" with my second husband. But, after reading "Radical Honesty" by Brad Blanton, I am pondering how I might go about doing that.

I live in a cohousing community. Cohousing communities differ from each other, in that they may be comprised of separate houses, they may be an apartment building, or they may have some other physical configuration. Two features that cohousing communities have in common with each other are: (1) consensus decision making, and (2) a common house, which is a central structure in which members sometimes get together.

My cohousing community is a 25-unit apartment building set on four and a half acres, with communal vegetable gardens.

From the beginning, we've had a potluck dinner in our communal dining hall once a week. As time has gone by, other meals or mini-meals have been added. For instance, afternoon tea on Tuesdays, coffee on Saturday mornings, a barbecue on the communal patio on summer Sunday evenings.

We each do some volunteer work to keep the place ticking over -- gardening, cleaning, shoveling snow, etc.

In "negotiating" my relationship with my cohousing community, I still am searching for the balance that feels right to me. On the one hand, the sense of community that we have here means a lot to me. On the other hand, I also value my freedom. For example, I would like to head to a warmer climate for a couple of months during our winters. My volunteer work currently includes an administrative position which is at its busiest in winter. That is incompatible with my going away, and it's something I would like to re-negotiate in due course.

I think it's fair to say that finding balance is a persistent theme for me -- finding a balance between having relationships with other people on the one hand and pursuing my individual interests on the other hand. Too little in the way of relationships feels lonely, but too little independence feels stifling. There's a sweet spot somewhere in between.

Sort:  

Nice to see that you are posting!

You communal housing sounds very similar to the communes I have stayed on in the past. We grew food pitched in together and had common areas. One of which was the kitchen building.

I can relate with "finding the balance", it has also been a persistent theme for me, which makes sense as I am a Libra.

And it's very interesting that you live in a cohousing community, it's actually something I've been looking into as I quite like the sound of one, although I've struggled to find one anywhere near me. I don't think it's very prominent over here in the UK.

Thanks, RedRica. Isn't it serendipitous that you'd been looking into cohousing? It certainly looks as if we have some interests in common. By the way, you were the person who jogged me into doing an introductory post. :-)

Hey judyroberts, everything about my journey so far on Steemit has been full of synchronicities! But yes, coming upon your account has been special, as I actually found you on the FB Steemit group first. I'm really looking forward to what you'll be sharing in the future :)

Welcome to Steemit @judyroberts! And greetings from down south of you in Port Townsend, Washington!

I'm originally from Denmark, regarded by some as the home of cohousing. Sounds like you are doing it more the Scandinavian way, with apartments and a common space.... a lot of communities in the US seem more along the lines of "groups of hippies in the woods with trailers."

Anyway, hope you enjoy Steemit! Takes a little while to get established and develop a following... but well worth the effort, in the long run!

Thank you, denmarkguy.

Denmark as the home of cohousing. Yes, indeed. One of the founders of my cohousing community spent several months studying such communities in Denmark. I think that was related to a Masters thesis he was doing in economics. In any event, he returned to Nanaimo -- on Vancouver Island -- and started talking about cohousing to anyone who would listen. What started with many conversations around his kitchen table eventually came to fruition as a cohousing community.

As for Steemit ....... Yes, I like what I've seen of it so far. I look forward to more "conversations" here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78