Introduction of Myself

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

I was given the name Joachim, Then (last name) Tze Wun (Chinese name). Upon confirmation in a Catholic church, I chose the name Ivan after my maiden's name Irene. Hence the name Joachim Ivan Then Tze Wun.

Since day one of introducing myself, I already had an issue teaching people how to pronounce my name. Growing up in Asian country (Malaysia) not a lot of people know how to pronounce Christian names properly, my name included, so till today, after being around for nearly 30 years, I still need to teach people on the proper pronunciation of my name. It is Yoa-khim.

I was the eldest among 2 other younger brothers, 1 being 6 years and the other 8 years away from me. Because there were gap in between us, we were not close to each other when we were younger, until recent years. For "Blood is thicker than Water".

I completed Degree in International Business in an Australian University here in hometown, never went anyway to study but at the same time, not regretting it. All my studying years had been colourful, some part, even too colourful. But it had all made into who I am today. Finishing it, there was no opening for the degree that I obtained here in hometown, refusing to leave, I stayed and pursue on what I thought I like - drinking.

I went into alcohol business and started to work in their sales department. Long story short, it was right company, but I joined at the wrong time, company was going through some major reconstruction, management was all in a mess and employee's benefits were not their main objective, I left after one short year.

From there, I owe my current career to an old friend which saw the fire in me as a young man who has nothing to lose, at the same time eager to explore new, fun and crazy stuff. She got me into my current company, as - Research & Design team member, do not know what lies ahead, I went full steam with the team.

Now 5 years had gone by, sweet, bitter, pretty and ugly, I swallowed it all up with the current team. Though there were major changes in the team, but the core love in between colleagues remain strong and hopefully it stays as it is. All the way to 5 days without sleep's event to finger snap's show, the team had been through it all and I am looking forward for more years to come!

Joachim Then-0112.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @joachim10, welcome to Steemit! It is rare to see a Malaysian on Steemit, I am from Singapore and I am trying to encourage more people from Singapore and Malaysia to join Steemit. I have started to follow you as I hope I can build a network of Singaporean/Malaysian. Follow me back if you are keen. Upvoted this post, cheers!

Hey! It's good to see you here! Yeaa.. @rodznocturne , another fellow Msian, which is also a close friend is here too, well, it's good to be pioneer I'll say? let's grow this together!

Cool! I will go check out @rodznocturne as well.

Welcome on board @joachim10 ! Since you are malaysian, You can use tags like #teammalaysia to increase your post engagement to the malaysian community.

Hello @superoo7, its great to see a fellow Msian here, cool, will do that in the next post for sure

Congratulations @joachim10, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43